Skeevy train to Backwater Bliss...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kollam
February 21st 2008
Published: February 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

OK..this is going to have to be short and sweet. I am at an internet cafe that only has 1 computer..i am in the middle of nowhere! its so great! my 17 hour train ride was well, a 17 hour train ride. aside from it coming 1 hour late, getting a booty grab by someone in the next compartment, not sleeping because of aforementioned booty grab, meeting some crazy people, having a run in with a furry creature, having a fight about not allowing smoking in santa monica being the same as making black people sit in the back of the bus, it was fine. i survived and with relative sanity!!! there were no english signs at most of the stations so i had no idea how i was going to know when to get off. my cell phone has a cool feature that it tells me where i am so i chose to listen to that. i got off and realized, wow i am in the middle of nowehere and was the only foreigner. i found the one rickshaw driver and he brought me to my place. it is soooo unbelievably beautiful!!!! we are right on the river and the only things around are small villages. i have been just sitting around in my hammock, reading, chatting, swimming and waving to the other tourists who go by on their big houseboats!! there are no crocodiles and it is wonderful! there is a lady from Brazil, a man from Germany (who is with me here at the internet cafe...we ventured here on his motorcycle!) and there was a French girl also but she left this morning. The family whose house it is provides all the meals and they are yummy! Yesterday I went for a walk and felt completely famous! Everyone wanted to say hi or have me take pictures. a group of 12ish year old boys were my favorite!! they were so excited to meet me! its so funny! i got to really see village life....the ladies doing laundry in the river (and i thought i hated laundry), the kids coming home from school, the ladies picking mussels out of the river for dinner, the fisherman fishing, the taxi's (boats) bringing people place to place! it is so amazing!! i woke up this morning for the sunrise and that was really nice too! it is so strange seeing people in these really old wooden boats rowing them with big sticks, and then picking up a cell phone! and strange that i get much better service here when i dont even get service in ringwood!! crazy!

you will all be happy to know that my memory card has been fixed (i am brilliant) (it was not pny stay!!) and i have been consistent with my yoga practice every day except for the train day-that woulde been a little strange.

happy cows dont come from california-they so come from kerela. and goats, they are happy too. tomorrow i leave this wonderful place to go meet up with some friends in kochi. there we will explore before taking a houseboat around just like i have been watching others do. it will be nice to see some familiar faces!! then i will head to mumbai where i will have one wonderful night in a fancy shmancy hotel (thanks mom and dad) and 5 more nights in a not so nice hotel that has yet to be determined. maybe i can wash some dishes at the marriot and make them let me stay there for free!


alright i better get going and let my German friend use the computer-we came into town to go to a temple but it was closed and reopens in 10 minutes! otherwise you would not have been hearing from me for awhie!! adios!

Advertisement



21st February 2008

Happy Cows!
Yay for happy cows! I loved the pic of the cow enjoying the sunset on the beach :O) It sounds like your trip is continuing with memorable adventures. I was able to catch up on some of your blogging since I'm home from work with a concussion! Yes, your twin is the queen of strange injuries..haha Stay safe and keep having fun!
21st February 2008

flying over now
so your saying that california is not the end all for me as a cow? i just quit my cow job and sold all my stuff and getting on a plane to come retire with all those happy cows. how are the bulls? well i guess i'll find out when i get there.. i love the fact your in india and you signed off with adios.. did you wear a helmet when you were on the back of that bike

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb