Bharanikuzhi waterfalls, Malayattoor


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kochi
June 8th 2014
Published: March 27th 2015
Edit Blog Post

In the forests ranges of Malayattoor in Kerala found Bharanikuzhi waterfalls; it’s seasonal in nature. The awesome beauty wins hearts of travelers at very first glance. If you love nature and traveling come to watch the rendezvous of Bharanikuzhi waterfalls. I visited this place 3 or 4 times in past and all time I promise myself to revisit again. Here are my experiences sure nature lovers will enjoy reading.

The beauty of Kerala lies in the green areas spread across length and breadth of the state. Incidentally, this place is not highlighted in the state’s tourist map yet. If those places started founding place in a tourist’s map, perhaps the real luster will be lost because of excessive human encroachment.

The Bharanikuzhi waterfalls is one such a seasonal beauty that is found in a rocky stream originating from the mountains and hills of Malayattoor forest division. This creation of nature is mainly known among people living in and around Ernakulam district of Kerala. Ideal time to explore this place is during June to August months. You will find loads of fun in trekking through shallow waters and climbing up the hill. In most of rock pits water is less than 2 feet high so you can not expect for swimming.

Childhood memories




Bharanikuzhi is pretty close to my heart because it’s close to my parent's home. In my childhood days, I used to go there with my parents and uncle. I was not allowed to go there alone in my teens even as there is no proper road and also because of fear from some wild animals. My mother was always afraid that somehow I will hurt myself if go alone. However, we used to visit couple times in a year especially during holidays. First I visited Bharanikuzhi waterfalls without my parents with couple of friends when I was 17 plus. Though there is no place to swim but water sports with friends was great.

Now, I am travel blogger by profession. Years back, I was unable to understand the real beauty of Bharanikuzhi waterfalls. But as soon my interests in travel blogging increased I started traveling to many new places. I realized the real beauty close to my childhood home. Recently I visited the place again, and this time I was sure to catch some glimpses in my Android phone.

How to reach Bharanikuzhi?




The location of the Bharanikuzhi is in the foothills of a tall mountain called Malayattoor Kurisumudi. This is place of pilgrimage for Christians. There is no proper road beyond "Adivaram". You can drive in a car or bike to reach to "Adivaram". From there unpaved road leads to forests of Bharanikuzhi. After walking around 1Km, you will start to listen to the sounds of water falls. Once you see the shallow stream walk ahead and you will discover small waterfalls and few deep rock pits.

Allow me to tell you little about Bharanikuzhi. The word “Bharanikuzhi” is derived from two words "Bharani" means "large ceramic jar" and "kuzhi" means "pit". The waterfall is named so because of few deep pits which appear as the shape of a large jar.

What can you do there?




You can not do too many activities around Bharanikuzhi waterfall, as there is almost no permanent human habitation. All you can do is relax in the lap of nature and reenergize yourself. The place is safe but rocks may be slippery. Beware of snakes and other small wild animals in the trails to the waterfalls. However, I never heard any untoward incidents happening there. Unlike a zoo, if you spot an animal, do not go near it or disturb the creature. At times, the herds of wild elephants also go there to drink water and take bath. I am sure you will love watching one such glimpses.

Other nearby attractions near Bharanikuzhi waterfall includes:




1. Athirappilly water falls - This is some 20 Km from Bharanikuzhi waterfall. The Athirappilly water falls is one of the important attractions in the Kerala tourism map, with big waterfalls.

2. Mahogany thottam (forest) – This is a place of natural beauty with very large Mahogany trees. Its location is at Malayattor itself within 5 km. In this place you can happen to meet some famous cinema stars as film shootings often happens here.

3. Kodanad elephant training center – This is located nearly 4 km from Bharanikuzhi waterfall. There is a newly constructed bridge that allows road access to Kodanad.

Read my Indian travel blogs to read more interesting tourist destinations in Kerala.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb