Kochi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kochi
April 25th 2013
Published: April 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today, I wandered around the market stalls, treating myself to a bag, yet another pair of Aladdin pants and some snacks for my forth-coming long-arse bus journey. Kochi is a very chilled-out place, aside from the market sellers touting their wares and the three women in the restaurant I'm currently sitting in, who are blatantly staring at me. C'est la vie.


Being the animal-lover I am, I always tend to take interest in the local wildlife. I've noticed that here, rather than cows wandering the streets (as was the case in Bangalore), goats do so. Loads of them, just going about their business. Obviously, the locals take no notice, but I find it quite amusing! Can you imagine a goat or a cow strolling through the streets of London? Me neither.

So, since going it alone in India, I've had this feeling in my tummy that this is perhaps a trip not to be ventured alone. Nothing drastic has happened, it's just a feeling I have, probably media-charged, if I'm honest. Also, having enjoyed the company and vibe so much in Bangalore, I got too comfortable and set out from there later than intended, thus leaving myself too little time to see everything that India has to offer. As a result, I have decided to call it a day here, with a definite view to returning in the future. Since this was the part of my journey that folk back home were most worried about, my forth-coming departure should set a few minds at ease.

Prior to this, however, I have one more stop, which will entail a 17 hour bus journey. Fun times. It's a touristy destination and Jac's been suggesting we go there for years. It wasn't on my original to-do list, but should (hopefully) make for a relaxing end to my time in India. No prizes for guessing where I'm heading!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb