Hitting the Ground Running


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kochi
September 16th 2008
Published: September 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hitting the Ground Running



So I do not have very much time, so I will make this brief.

After a week and a night at Achen's house, we all went our separate ways. The training time was over. No more comfort and security of a family that was used to volunteers. No more people who were there to help get us used to India and acclimate. Nothing is scarier than being pushed out of Taxi door on the step of a building in a strange land.

Well, at least that part is true. Nothing is scarier than that first step out into your new unfamiliar world. The rest however is not so much. From the moment I stepped out of the Taxi, everyone knew my name, and I fell like it was only for the sake of introductions that names where exchanged. They were solely for my benefit. Another thing: everyone hear wants to help me acclimate. So many people have tried to take me under their wing that sometimes I feel overwhelmed by hospitality. But it is beautiful. With so many people wanting to help me with my language skills, how can I not learn Malayalam?

And it being the second day and all, I think people are starting to realize that I speak a lot less Malayalam than they in English, so there is no harm in trying. It also helps when I butcher my Malayalam in front of a group. Everyone else sounds a bit more confident after that.


So I am living right now in a small room with a connected bathroom. However I think I am living above what the students and single faculty have. It is still however simple by western standards, and I believe that there is something to be embraced in that. Simplicity.

Other things that I have done here is become apart of the seemingly daily cricket game. One of my new found student friends wanted me to play today on his team. I do not know the rules or how to play, I said. He did not care. We will probably lose, but it is good to be apart of something so cool.

I don't think I mentioned this earlier, but I am staying at a Blind School in Kerala. That means that the students are all partially blind, if not entirely. But it is really cool the way the ones that are able to, lead those who can not. Even the blind will lead the blind in and out of rooms together. Everyone buddies up to get around, and they take care of each other. It is a beautiful sight (pun not intended) and I think there is something to learn there. The same with my lack of Malayalam and their lack of English. Through the dark we stumble together.

That is all, I have to go. I will try to add more later but internet is not easily accessible here.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb