Fort Kochi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kochi
May 1st 2008
Published: May 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

The bus ride was a little rough as I'm still not feeling all that peachy but after a few hours we were at the stunning chinese fishing nets that line the coast of fort kochi. This area is super touristy but on the small side. I'm excited about the prospect of toast for breakfeast. We took it pretty easy today, just walking around getting settled in. We are staying at a pretty cute homestay. In the evening we went to a Kathakali performance- traditional dance form. It was incredible. We went early to watch the make up. The facial expressions these artists are capable of are extraordinarily impressive. There was a demonstration prior to the performace to introduce us to the symbolic actions. Even with this I had a hard to time following. It was beautiful though.
The next day we headed over to jew town, yes jew town. The synagogue was sadly closed but the walk around the area was quite enjoyable. One of my favourite things about is india is the richness of faith. Religion plays such a large role in day to day life here. There are so many religions that seem to exist side by side without much issue. I headed back to the hotel after this as I'm still not feeling so hot.
We found a fabulous westernesk cafe for breakfeast. I was ecstatic to ahve quality western food as my stomach has been cringing at curries and dosas since i got sick. We did a bit of shopping. I bought myself a shirt as two of mine have already been deemed unpresentable... one has become a mysterious and troublesome colour while the other seems to have stretched so low that it almost reaches my navel. Not something that quite flies in a culture of modesty. This left me with only one short sleeve that I like. I once again chilled out in the hotel room for a good portion of the day trying to regain some sense of strength. Kochi is a wonderful spot. ..
Please excuse my rambling blog entries. Im not feeling particularly organized and have done zero proofreading. Most of you are probably able to follow it as you are used to hearing me talk. cheers!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb