Trichur


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Trichur
April 26th 2008
Published: May 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in the morning after a disgusting night on the bus. I'm not sure if I'd ever been that dirty before. We grabbed some chai and went on a hotel hunt, a task that proved a little more difficult than i anticipated. This may have stemmed largely from the ending of a large festival and also that the word 'hotel' isn't hotel. 'hotel' reads 'restaurant'. A fact we gathered after asking there were rooms at a few different locations and being offered dosas... Eventually we found a place within our budget, showered and gave suddhit kumar a call. He was fantastic and offered to pick us up in an hour. We went out for breakfeast with him and Victor. Victor is adorable and very excited for his wedding tomorrow. Suddhit Kumar is married with a little girl. They both live in goa currently but are going to bring their families there soon and have neighbouring appartments. After breakfeast theytook us shopping for salwars for the wedding. My backpacking wardrobe was lacking a bit of formal wear. It was so much fun to go shopping and i was so grateful for their help, as Nicole and I would not have been able to navigate the scene of fabrics, style and seamstress. We quickly learned that there are a plethora of cuts available. We tried to see a bollywood flick in the evening but were unsuccessful. I think trichur might be a little too small, so we headed back to the hotel to read and get an early nights sleep for the wedding.
My sleep was less than successful as I soon woke up throwing up like nobodys business with a burning fever, mad stomach cramps and other things of similar fun. I threw up most of the night and was in no shape to go anywhere by morning. I was super bummed to miss the wedding but Nicole tells me that is was beautiful and showed me some lovely pictures. I slept most of the day but I saw no improvement in my predicament so agreed to go to the hospital at night. The hospital was actually pretty nice... definetly nicer than where we were staying. They gave me some injections to calm my fever and set me up in a private room with an IV. Nicole even scored her own bed. I'm prtty sure those are both hard to come by in alberta. Not to mention a whopping hospital bill of about 30 bucks.. which includes the AC room. I thought it was an appropriate time to splurge particularly with the fever. Anyways, the following day showed some improvement so we checked out and crashed at the hotel. The next day we were off to cochin..

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb