The Bus to Fort Cochin!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kochi
December 15th 2006
Published: December 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

FIRE WALK WITH ME!FIRE WALK WITH ME!FIRE WALK WITH ME!

We saw a martial-arts show in Kumily. This guy is about to jump thru the double-ring of fire.
We left Kumily and headed to the coastal town of Fort Cochin. We started the journey via taxi-cab (3hours) and then caught a 2hour bus-ride from the city of Kovalam. I (Michael) do not like the buses here. Beside the crowds of people packed in like sardines, there is no sleep, no reading, just holding on for dear life. The floor of the bus gets so hot, I can feel the heat thru my sandles! It was madness......at least for me. Ade did great, she dosnt seem to mind the chaos....and we both agree it's a great way to say money. We got off at a bus-stop to connect to another bus (to get to Fort Cochin). This bus was full to the brim with bodies. Ade jumped right in and I followed.......then the nightmare began. With by back-pack on, I was like a giant-human ping-pong ball. I was getting pushed around, it was super-hot, people were breathing on me.......I WAS GOING NUTS! We were probably on that bus a total of 300yards! I made Ade get off at the next stop so I could catch my breath. Michael + Bus = NO FUN! We caught a rick-shaw to Fort Cochin
On the Raft!On the Raft!On the Raft!

This is the raft we used to cross the lake at the Tiger Reserve. You can see Ade's Leech socks that we rented.
where we will explore for the next 2 days.

I wrote the first paragraph yesterday........so I will now continue. Last night we wonderd around the city. We watched a Sitar concert and relaxed to the mellow sounds. Here in Fort Cochin is a town called JEW TOWN (no joke) which we will check out today. We missed the first night of Hannuka and Shabbat service last night, but we will try to catch the menorah lighting ceremony and feast tommorow night. There is a large Indian/Jewish population here in town.......This Indian lady wearing a BARRY MANILOW t-shirt yelled at me to CALL MY MOTHER and to PUT ON A CLEAN PAIR OF PANTS (that was a joke).

Im gonna put in some past photos to catch up.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The Raft.The Raft.
The Raft.

This is the raft we were on. YIKES!!
The Bridge!The Bridge!
The Bridge!

This was real safe. I let Ade go first!!!
Real Chai-TeaReal Chai-Tea
Real Chai-Tea

Starbucks Chai-Tea dosn't look like this.
TEA PLANTATIONTEA PLANTATION
TEA PLANTATION

This is s Tea Plantation in Kumily. Is this where LIPTON comes from?? Picture is alittle fuzzy - shot out of moving Taxi.
Sitar and Tabla ConcertSitar and Tabla Concert
Sitar and Tabla Concert

Great Sound, great show!
This mirror STINKS!This mirror STINKS!
This mirror STINKS!

I love this mirror. It was hanging in the coffe shop/art gallery we ate breakfast at.


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb