Convent Living!!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Angamaly
April 20th 2007
Published: April 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My journey has brought me to HOME OF HOPE in Kochi where I am living in a convent with nine sisters and about 40 girls as some have left during summer break. I am volunteering for the week of which now I wish was longer. The sisters are fantastic! Full of energy, widom and many fun jokes. I love them. The children have filled my heart and I already want to take them all with me and be their mom and love them to bits. I can't think about leaving it makes me cry even though I miss home so much and can't wait to give all my friends and family a great big hug. I am so lucky to have so many incredible people in my life. Tomorrow we are going as a group to Kollam for a picnic with another orphanage that lives close to the beach. The kids are so excited the air is buzzing with anticipation. Sounds of laughter and singing fill the halls so many have incredible voices it brings me to tears they really could be the next "Idol" and they have no idea of their talent.

This morning I joined yoga class with the kids and although I did well I was rather amusing because I had no idea what the instructor was saying so I had to watch closely. I am glad I have done yoga before. I did get singled out on the panting dog which brought on rolling laughter with myself and the rest of the group. I loved it yoga felt real and not that stuffy I am so spiritual crap which drives me nuts.

Kochi is hot and very humid and I am sweating like crazy which on one hand drives me nuts and on the other I love how my skin looks and feels. There's me little MS Positive! Their level of English is very low I need to do more games and keep it fun then tie the game and the learning together. I have become very animated in my teaching to get my point across. It's cute! Alex is doing well all the kids love him and want to play with him non stop till he runs out of steam and hides in the room and has a nap. Yesterday was rather stinky raw sewage runs in concrete ditches along side the road and in many spots its wide open and rather rank. The orphange is a government funded and things are rather sparse but lots of good food, smiling faces and new things to be learned.

Sorry no pictures this round or the next till we get a cd burned again so your just going to have to hang in there!
I love you all and missing home never felt so good. It feels really good to have some purpose to my day.

Love
Jeannie & Alex

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb