Talekad


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka
January 7th 2007
Published: January 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Talekad Temple in SandTalekad Temple in SandTalekad Temple in Sand

One of the temples buried in the sand. next to it was another one in the process of excavation.
After our stop at the Kesava temple we went on to Talekad. Here there is a collection of temples. It's a huge archaeological dig right now. That was my favorite part, seeing parts of temples and rocks. There are a fair amount of general Hindu temples but I'm not really interested in them unless there is some historical story behind them. Watching people worship idols makes me uneasy.
Talekad has temples galore. Plus it has a beach and on a Saturday there were a lot of families out with picnics, hanging out on the beach and enjoying the sun and cool breezes. I also counted two monkeys, mostly because they were about 5 feet away from me.
Unfortunately my stupid rechargable Energizer batteries crapped out on me (both sets) and the one set of regular batteries I could find in the area to buy didn't last long so my pictures here are very few. My friend let me borrow his smaller digital camera and I have more pics on that one but I have to wait for him to download them for me. Either way I still have some to enjoy.
These temples were buried in the sand over the years.
Beach at TalekadBeach at TalekadBeach at Talekad

Beautiful day at the beach

We also took off across a path that didn't have any other people on it and stumbled on an area where someone had been recently buried. There were plastic bracelts strewn all over the area so Matt surmised it was probably a woman that was buried there.
All in all it was quite an eventful day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Recent Burial Mound at TalekadRecent Burial Mound at Talekad
Recent Burial Mound at Talekad

One of 3 burial mounds in the area.
Temple with a Bull at TalekadTemple with a Bull at Talekad
Temple with a Bull at Talekad

Little shrine or temple entrance. Not quite sure...


Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb