Perspectives on Gokulam


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Mysore
July 27th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I am losing the words to attach to such memories and cannot depict anything remotely accurate. This place is a paradox of our times, a place for enlightenment if you do not search for it, and a place of ego when you do look for it.

It's been absolutely wonderful and the experience, I would not give up for any money in the world! I have met so many interesting people who have so much light to shed and share. I met a Swami who lives in a cave up on a hill and mainly meditates for his whole day. Points of discussion were God being like air can't see it, just experience it: a mantra is like planting a seed-if you are using it for healing...it will take time to grow as a wound is inflicted quickly but it takes time to heal: troubles becoming miniscule as we rise above to a higher consciousness and look down at them: why Hindu's put ther hands in flames and spread the fire over them 3 times (elightement for past, present and future!).We shared some more interesting conversation and his parting words were so simply but resignate with you, or should, forever :Be good to yourself.

I visited a ancient temple here and got a pooja done for myself..I donated a huge wreath of flowers..with I quickly learned was loved not only by the GOds, but by bees!! The que to get in to see the swami was soooo long and I had bees covering my hands until I reached him! No bites though! I also recieved a blessing from Parvati which I wear proudly around my wrist. Cows, oxes, and monkeys were plentiful and walked around like they were one of us...crazy!

Plus the numerous other places I have visited here...the Mysore Palace. Visiting there was truly majestic! HUGE does not describe it. Temples inside! Gold everywhere, marble, painting in 3-D that have eyes to follow you as you pass by...unbelievable! Being inside where the Maharaja used to dine, rule, and get married, was just marvelous and standing in a part of history like that, is undescribable.

I later visited Tippu Sultan's summer palace...Euro-Islamic style..much different..He was a soldier who helped the Maharaja battle the British..It was stunning to see all the kutas (sp-thw curved swords) and see where it all went down. I would love to share pics, but it doesn't look like I can...something is either seriously wrong with my card reader, or something as this new card doesn't work either..truly frustrating! I have some fabulous pictures!

I have been doing my yoga practice, religiously, literally, learning about this and that from other students, who are really teachers. I played with Guruju's great grandaughter yesterday. SHe is in SK and quite the princess! I'm sure this would be considered amazing to most here...like I said, he and his family are quite the celebrities. I actualy saw him yesterday..I hear people have been here for months and haven't spotted him once...actually, I have made quite an impact here...people are astonished at the many things I have done in 5 short days here and the connections I have made..I have people saying "thank you for taking me here"...it's quite cute! I actually didtn' even know who "sharath" was..I was speaking to him as if he was just another yoga teacher..after all, aren't we all equal in Yogic terms? Anyways, people were flabbergasted that I could speak to him without basically kissing his feet (which I saw someone do)..crazy stuff here I tell ya!

I also had a great cooking class yesterday..mmmm!! stuffed eggplant, roti, and palak dal! Umm..yeah..will try it!

I can't even begin to desribe my trance somatic dialogue therapy...My phsio therapist will have to know all about this one..it's unbelievable! It's therapy through a trance like state where you heal emotional issues that help you deal with physical pain..there is only 3 guys who practice this in India..My kumar, another guy, and somoene who does't not want to practice anymore..I was lukcy enough to get an opportunity for this session by Kumar, who studied from the teachings of Osho..again, I was met with "how did you get an appointment? I've been tring for weeks!!!"...

Amazing things going on here...I am off to breakfast to meet some friends..I have tons of things to do today, just finished class..body was not cooperating today.. tmrw I told Saraswathi I want to take a pciture with her..she's soooooooooo cute!

Gotta run..I'm totally used to living here now...kinda wish I was in Mysore longer...but the Taj Mahal awaits! Next week ! Full Moon on Monday! They believe that full moon gives you tons of energy..so use it wisely all!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb