Feeling Hampi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Hampi
August 18th 2006
Published: August 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me in front of the Achyutaraya TempleMe in front of the Achyutaraya TempleMe in front of the Achyutaraya Temple

More temples and ruins . .
I travelled from Goa to Hampi on a 13 hour bus trip which was supposed be 9 hours. I capped off the ride with a thoroughly annoying and frustrating time trying to find a room at 11pm. I finally settled in a small, but decent place and went to bed. I awoke in the morning, bathed, and went straight up the metal staircase outside my room to the rooftop restaurant for some coffee. It took a few minutes to wipe the sleep from my eyes and adjust to the sun, which I hadn't seen in days. But once I did, I found myself on a third floor rooftop restaurant, in the town of Hampi, surrounded by huge boulders and ancient Hindu temples. I felt as though I were in another era. The view and the feeling at that moment was beautiful. On my right was a river, muddy and swollen from the rains, lined by coconut palms and backed by huge boulders that appeared as though someone must have placed them there artistically. To my left was a large ancient temple, the Virupaksha Temple, almost 50 meters high. It looked as if it might collapse at any minute, but after reading
The Virupaksha TempleThe Virupaksha TempleThe Virupaksha Temple

This temple was built in 1442, and dedicated to Viupaksha, a form of Shiva.
that this temple has stood for over five centuries, I decided that today was probably not the day.
I spent the next two days exploring Hampi by bicycle and walking the areas where my bike wasn't allowed or able. I had a mini-mountaineering excursion saving my ridge rester, which had blown about 30 feet in the wind and rain, down a flat sheet of rock onto some more boulders. I emorged from that excursion triumphant. I relaxed and contempleted existence in Hampi, solidity, faith, nature, art, and devotion. In the end, it was another tourist town where the postcard sellers, guesthouse owners and the like were all out to make a rupee or two from me. People were nice enough, and I left there feeling energized and renewed for the rest of my journey. I recommend this spot to anyone and everyone. It is one of the most interesting and unique places I have ever seen. Enjoy some of the images I took here, and book your ticket to Hampi, in the state of Karnataka, India. The season is starting early this year!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Massive bouldersMassive boulders
Massive boulders

Just mind boggling!
Kids playingKids playing
Kids playing

The view from my room window gave me a few opportunities to photograph people when they weren't looking.
two guys earning rupeestwo guys earning rupees
two guys earning rupees

These two guys were nice enough to allow me to take their photo and sign thier book of "friends" for a small fee.


19th August 2006

must visit hampi
So i see now what you meant when you said "these boulders are huge" the picture where a temple seems snuggled within the boulders is beautiful - it accentuates the largeness of these. WOW! Relativity gives perspective. Lovely, indeed! And more impressive is the terrific job with spelling the oh! so complex! names of temples. You make me proud! ;)
1st September 2006

where are you now?
Hi Heather, Sounds like a magnificent place to vsit............Hampi.!! Wish I could be there with you. Where are you now? What are your travel plans for returning to the states??!! Is Sept. 7th still the date? Love to you both? MOM

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb