Om...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Gokarna
March 15th 2007
Published: March 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Uggh... I just wrote for at least 20 min. - and I just lost the whole thing. Sorry if the last entry was hard to follow - I was just alittle tipsy.
SO I had booked an overnight train ticket from Mumbai to Madgao - planning to catch a locall bus for 2hrs. from there straigh to Gokarna. But theat's not what happened. I met a girl on the train from England (living in Australia) who didn't have a place to sleep. She had bought a general class ticket (seat only), hoping to upgrade, but the train was more than full. So she sat with me and we stayed up late talking (got hushed by the conductor a couple of times). Then she spent the rest of the night moving around trying to find a spot to sleep. She had said I should get off before my stop and go to Arambol (a beach in North Goa that I had heard a lot of good things about). So right at the very last moment, I changed my plan (hard for me to do), and decided to give Goa on more try. Arambol was very hipied out - Boulder x10. There were restaurants serving tofu, avacado (the first I'd seen, organic food, and even raw soups. There were people walking around constantly with teddy bears (some therapy group), Tai Chi groups on the beach, lots of live music (not very good though), anf big hippie drum circles at night. I decided to leave the next day, and continue on to Gokarna.
I left a little late, and wasn't sure if I'd missed the train, so I decided to take the bus. I turned into me taking five busses, and what would have been 4 hrs. by train took eight or nine by bus! I arrived really late, but Sukru and his friend drove us to the beach. Since then, I've been eating a lot, laying in the sun and swimming a lot, walking to town a bit, and doing yoga once or twice a day. Today we had an evening yoga session right on the beach for sunset. I got my stitches taken out in town, and my chin seems to be fine (although I don't have a mirror so I'm not sure what it looks like - or what I look like most of the time). We had a great bonfire one night, and went swimming in the dark - there weer the most amazing phosphorescents in the water I've ever seen - it was like you were glowing every time you move - there were streams of light that were magical. I saw some dolphins the other day when we walked to the next beach to play frisbee. Yesterday a friend of mine (a girl I met here from Brighton) and I bought a big fish from the Muslim fisherman - and one of the restaurants cooked it up for us last night - yum! Today I tried to give the puppy a bath - but the poor thing has so many fleas! Ahh... Today I started painting a mural on the wall of one of the guesthouse walls - one of the girls there had bought the paints and kept talking about doing it, but actually left to go back to Portugal. So I helped motivate the others to start the project - and it's really fun.
Just to let you guys know (Sara I was thinking of you), you can get really good dental care here for nothing! This guy here just got two root canals for about $10. Apparently people come here from Russia (and other places) to vacation and get their teeth fixed all in one!
I miss everyone. Let me know if anyone has any requests for me to bring stuff back - spices, oils, incence, tea/coffee, hammoks....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb