Connected!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
May 19th 2006
Published: May 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe this - finally got a connection at the house here!

It's 3:45AM - got home from work about a half hour ago. Not sure how long this connection will last so will do alot of saves. Power has gone out every morning after getting home for a few minutes. Usually when I'm brushing my teeth and getting ready to go to sleep! Power actually came on a few minutes ago. Heavy rains again tonight.

I've been on a few sightseeing trips last few weeks around Bangalore. Went to the Lalbagh Botanical Gardens. Home of many centuries old trees. Massive trees. Also has the largest rock formation on earth. That formation was the first thing I walked up after having my cast off - fool! It's not like rock-climbing, but a large gradual incline. Going down was much harder. At the top of this formation is one of 4 watchtowers scattered throughout Bangalore that were built in the 16th century. There are fountains, and a glass structure fashioned after the Crystal Palace in England where flower shows used to be held. Lalbagh means "red garden." There is a huge rose display, but I don't know if they were red because they were done blooming when I was there.

As that was my first real outing, I had my first encounter with a "tout" (CONfident MAN.) He asked the driver if we wanted a guide - he flashed his ID badge (everyone here has an ID badge of some sort) said he was a government guide. We asked how much - he said "what you wish." First mistake.

***I had to finish this on Monday, May 22 because connection stuck and had to log off***

At end of tour we give him 1,000 rupees ($20) for both of us. He wants 1,000 rupees each! No way. We didn't give him anymore. I still think we gave him too much.

Kelly and I wanted some plant seeds to take back to US to plant. We get in the car and wait for another "government worker" that the guide went to get to bring the seeds. Backing up a little bit ... before getting into the car, we sat outside for a little while waiting for this guy. Two little girls come begging (maybe 6 and 8 or so)- tapping me on the leg - "mam, mam" over and over. I know it sounds really harsh, but you have to ignore them. You'll be swarmed if you give them anything. The older girl said something, and they walked away.

The guy comes to the car window with the seeds and says 1,800 rupees! I said no - handed them back to him. He tells me something to the effect that those are prices set by government, not him. I say no. Then he says 800. I again say no - he's pushing the package of seeds at me while I'm telling him I changed my mind. I tell him 500 rupees for all. He takes it and we get out of there.

After reading about these touts, I now know this was a whole ring operation going on at those gardens. It happens all over. I noticed our guide kept the kids away from us while we were on the tour - and then he arranges for the nursery guy to get the seeds. I think the money is shared by all of them. Most likely not equally. It's a scam, but for many that's their only means.

As you're sitting at a traffic light, kids come up to the car window wanting to sell you towels, sunglasses, artifacts. Others just come up and tap on the window for a handout. Many of these kids look very ragged and dirty. I'm sure they may be very poor. No doubt about that - it's evident everywhere - the haves and have-nots. But I have not seen any of the kids begging look malnourished. I have seen some very, very pitiful adults begging - crippled, blind, severely malnourished. That is very sad.

Enough for now - later.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb