Catching Up


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
April 27th 2006
Published: April 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's been many weeks since I've been able to do any updating. Most of you reading this know my mobility has been pretty limited. So, I will relate what I've observed from the car window back and forth to the office every day.

There is SO much going on that even though I have traveled the same road twice a day for several weeks, it's like I'm seeing everything for the first time!

Both sides of the streets are filled with rubble - dirt piled from trenches being dug (for water or sewer I think), boulders, large rocks, and trash - paper/plastic. Among all that is traffic, people, cows and dogs.

I have not yet traveled on a road with marked lanes. Cars, autorickshaws (like motorized covered carriages - no doors - driver sits up front and a bench in back for 2 adults although I have seen more squeeze in - especially adults with kids,) buses, motorcyles (I have seen a family of 4 on one motorcycle, and these are not Harley's -Honda, Suzuki mostly) bicycles, all competing for their share of the road. You don't dare roll down your window and put even a hand out as something will come along and take it off! Today, another vehicle was only a fingertip away from the vehicle I was in - no kidding! Weaving in and out of traffic is the norm here. Horns sound continually.

At the stop lights, some motocycles and buses will turn off their engines because the lights are so long. The lights are timed, and the remaining time is displayed like a count-down. When there are about 4 seconds remaining, engines start up and everyone gets ready to go. It looks like the starting line of a marathon.

Cows and dogs are in the traffic as well although during the day,
they are mostly alongside the road. Some cows lay on the narrow medians while traffic zooms by. When I leave the office at 2:30AM or so, some cows are in the middle of the roads, and the cars just weave around them. At that hour, alot of the cows and dogs are sleeping together along the roadways. Dogs being dogs, some decide to chase the cars. I have to laugh everytime they do that! You definitely need a local driver, but even then there is risk. It is not a good thing for the vehicle inhabitants if one of these animals or a pedestrian is struck. Not only is the vehicle attacked, but you will be too.

When stopped in traffic, children come up to your car tapping at the window looking for money. It is best to not even look at them. That's hard as they are young, thin and look un-cared for. Some people say the kids are used by adults turning them out to beg. One small boy - maybe 7 yrs old tapped at my car window for almost the entire time we were stopped at the light. Another time, a young boy started to wipe the windshield with a dirty rag. That time, Girish our driver, shooed him away (I think because he was getting the windshield dirty!)

The food has been great. Most Indian food is spicy - lots of chilies used in cooking. Kelly's housekeeper cooks us a big lunch most days. It's good. Chinese food is plentiful here, too. Mostly Szchewan. There is a Korean restaurant we went to that was very good. Most of the high-end hotels have really good restaurants that specialize in non-Indian cuisine. I have dined in several of them (what else do you do on the weekend when your mobility restricted!) I have been experimenting with different cuisines. 5-Star dining here is so reasonable. Friends of Kelly usually join us and they invite friends, and sometimes we have a group of 10 or more at dinner. They come from all over the globe.

My cast came off this past Tuesday, and I've really progressed in my recovery. It'll be a few more weeks yet, but at least I'm able to walk on my own.

I plan to visit some gardens and/or temple this weekend. Will update next week.



Advertisement



29th April 2006

Great blogs!!
Aunt Cindy! It's good to hear about your encounters and all of the roadway ventures!! Haha!! I'm glad to hear that your ankle is better too! Grandma told me about it at Colin's birthday party. I'm excited to hear more about your time there and what different things you are seeing. I'm happy you chose to stick it out even though you were in pain from your ankle; what an experience! I look forward to the next blog! Take care of yourself, and have fun!! I'm sure you are already. Love, Jill
10th May 2006

Hi Darling,
It is so exciting reading your blogs. I can't wait for your next entry. I am so glad that your ankle is better. I hope you did get to go to the gardens like you wanted. It is a good thing you are tough, and I am glad you decided to stay. I bet you will have stories to tell your grandkids (and me) for years to come. Enjoy yourself, don't work too hard, take care. I hope to hear from you soon. Love ya, Chris

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb