Stationary.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
December 28th 2008
Published: December 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have yet to embark on this, my self proclaimed, life changing trip. It will be a first in that; I am travelling intimidatingly alone, I am travelling for a longer period than two weeks and that on my travels I aim to achieve more than just a tan top up.

Bangalore holds many possiblities for me. My intended length of stay is eight weeks in which I will be volunteering through an organisation to work for an Indian music magazine called Rave. It's office is based in Bangalore and this is the sole reason for my spontaneous choice of destination, without any background research or thought - which isn't like me at all. Working for such a magazine completely ties in with me furthering my career in the media when back home in the UK. So, I'm moving forwards with intent.

Anticipation regularly slaps me around the face, as I'm sure it would for anyone who have reiterated their plans for six long months. Of course, I do have my undoubted worries that are very eager to slap me upside the other cheek. And with a bit more force. To list isn't the most enticing of reads but I'm going to do it anyway; the climate, the culture shock, the food & the inevitable dreaded squits, the public transport, the possible language barrier... the list could go on but I could assume that the same would apply to any new traveller.

My parents are of Punjabi background and have raised me and my siblings in small town England. I now reside in Manchester, which as a city is a mixture of both past and present; liberal and funky, easy to access from anywhere and immensely friendly. To actually find a part of my culture, to connect with a missing part of me would be in itself a success. After everything I have read I'm trying not to have too many expectations and that way I'm sure I can get the most out of my experience.

To lose my sense of open mindedness would mean visiting the wrong country.
Excitement is dancing in my bones.
As is the constant reminder to pick up my passport.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb