Nationality


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
October 16th 2008
Published: October 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Saturday evening I was sitting at couch with my flatmates and we were approached by a couple of men who had started their night off early and were literally falling over themselves. The first thing out of their mouths was a question, ‘Where are you from’? Not a hello or a name, just a direct question and then another question, “Why don’t you ever talk to us?” They were leaning on each other trying to keep their upright position. I had never met or even seen these guys before and yet they were talking to me as if I had at some point refused to talk to them. I realized that this was just a moment of drunken ridiculousness, but it made me think.

Every place I go I’m seen as a nationality before I’m seen as a person. I am associated with a larger group of people before I’m ever seen as an individual with my own perspective or position. I’m American before I’m Democrat. I’m American before I’m business or pleasure. I’m American before I’m student. I’m American before I’m woman. I’m American before I’m daughter, sister, or friend. It’s strange being recognized by this title that means so little to me on a day to day basis and yet when I’m in another country I am confronted with it and it’s only until now that I have realized how much it really has shaped who I am and who I will continue to be whether I want it to or not.


Advertisement



4th November 2008

Interesting
This is an interesting observation. And you're right. I think when people look at an American that's who they see first. I wonder if that's the same in the reverse...
6th November 2008

I know it occurs in the reverse --with other nationalities being targeted. Mexicans in the U.S. or even Native Americans, who are very much American, are stereotyped heavily in the U.S. There are no boundaries to judgement. I'm sure it happens all over the world. It becomes even worse when people start generalizing and stereotyping based on color... It is hard to comprehend being seen as a color before being seen as anything else. Now that I think about it, I am sure the two are hopelessly intertwined.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb