Arrival


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
July 24th 2008
Published: August 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I arrived 12:25am, only 20min. later than scheduled. Amazing precision as far as I'm concerned, having traveled across the globe. Hell, I'm often less precise in my timing when traveling across the tiny city of Minneapolis.

The new Bangalore Airport is fabulous, it rivals the best in the US. However, I knew I wasn't in MN when I walked outside and found eyes all pointed at me and many sets of hands ready to carry my luggage for a few Rupees (standard tip is 5-10 rupees, equaling about 12-25 cents). Also of immediate fascination was that the airport bathroom had an attendant charging 2 rupees to use the facility -- a facility with water all over the floor. While toilet paper was available in each stall, most Indian’s apparently prefer to draw water from the bucket and wipe their bottoms with their hands, which tends to leave a sloppy floor…I guess…or, I’m just being a moron traveler without a clue why the floors are wet. I had been forewarned of the local penchant for washing instead of using toilet paper, but assumed there was proper containment for the splashy flow. For instance, the toilets would seem an obvious and underutilized target, albeit perhaps easier said than done (I haven’t yet tried myself).


-Heidi

Advertisement



19th August 2008

I love that there is a map here! Wee!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb