Week #3


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
November 13th 2005
Published: November 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Apple Juice AnyoneApple Juice AnyoneApple Juice Anyone

OK Folks.....Get the visual on the Apple Juice from George. Would you risk this
Namaskar,

Just before 12:00 a.m. on Sunday. I am in an odd mood this evening, thinking about things back home. I am missing Chicago and all things familiar right now. This did not come over me until Diane and I got back from hanging out around town. Actually it started coming on on Thursday following a call to the States. I tried reaching out back home again to calm/settle myself but with no success. This only made matters worse for me. Enough of that.

With working until 3:30 a.m., M-F, there is no such thing as a wild Friday night out in the street, drinking/dancing until the wee hours of the morning. During my tour in Washington, D.C. last year, I could not wait until the weekend. I would drive home, hang out for an hour or so until 66 west opened to “all” pedestrian traffic instead of just those riding two or more; and hit it. Everything in Bangalore is shut down by the time we call it quits at work, including on Friday.

Saturday, Diane and I were on a mission to get to Citibank before it closed. We had been tracking her ATM card via UPS and were glad it had finally arrived. It took the damn thing a week to get here. A check at around 7:00 p.m. Friday showed it was still somewhere in Oregon. It flew a long ass way over night. Our driver was late and I finally got to see Diane almost loose her temper. It was kind-of my fault we were running late. I had lost Driver’s number which meant I had to reach George who called for us. He drove-up and we set out with 45 minutes left before the bank closed. Traffic in Bangalore is terrible no matter what day of the week and when we reached Brigade Road, just two blocks from the flat, traffic came to a halt. This day we had a new driver and George had briefed him on the urgency in rushing us to our destination. With 15 minutes left till closing, we pulled up to Citibank on MG road. It was a beautiful day, save all the pollution in the air from the exhaust of all the motor bikes and rickshaw’s on the road. Diane hopped out curb side. A rent-a-cop flagged our car down when we tried to enter the lot. Bangalore has about a zillion rent-a-cops guarding just about every structure standing in the city. And these guys are on duty 24-7. We were told that the lobby had closed and only the ATM was available. An argument ensued between driver and rent-a-cop. I thought they were going to slit one another’s throat the way they were going at it. Indian’s have very very short tempers and think nothing of treating one another rudely. After a minute of this I decided to hop out and take my chances trying to get inside just as Diane had. I was met by another rent-a-cop, small guy. As I walked through the metal detector he blocked my way in. “The Lobby is closed he said”. There were like 20-30 people inside which did not seem right to me so I politely told the gentleman that I needed to get in to address a matter of some urgency. Maybe it was the “fuck you” look on my face that got to him but he moved aside and I had access. Diane was at the desk trying desperately to get the attention of one of the two women sitting at the front desk. As she was competing with the other 30 folks in the joint, and did not speak the local tongue, it was not easy. And just like Mexican’s at home (no pun intended), they pretended not to understand English. We kept repeating ourselves until the word “UPS” turned on some magical switch in there heads. They collected Diane’s passport and disappeared for while, returning with her parcel. After a few signatures we were on our way. ATM’s are not branches are the thing in Bangalore. Citibank is super popular here so there ATM is always crowded, and manned by a rent-a-cop. After a short wait Diane swiped her card and we cooking with gas. It took her a long time to finally withdraw Rupee’s, all in 100 R’s denominations. She insisted counting them before turning to leave. I looked over my shoulder and this gentleman was staring at us with this angry growl on his face. I shrugged my shoulders and looked back at Diane as if to say “women” and he cracked a wide grin.

We headed over to TGI Friday’s for some lunch. By this time, Diane and I have had it with spicy Indian food. We just wanted something bland to eat. No such thing in Bangalore. After lunch we decided to head back to the flat to rest up before the night. We were meeting some co-workers at the pub later.

Driver was late again. He reported having fallen asleep. Damn if we cared. Good thing we were not in a rush. This allowed us to have a pre-pub cocktail whilst we waited. New Driver had tented windows on his car which I liked. We found the bar without too much trouble. I stopped to put currency on my phone and we headed up to the pub. It was on the fourth floor and way sheik. A 300 R cover charge to get in which came with two drink tickets. This place was beautiful on the inside, done out in an Asian theme, and complete with marble topped bars splattered with red rose pedals, silk covered sofa’s everywhere and little nooks for privacy. We found our party in the rear. The room was surrounded with risers against the walls four high, sofas, a bar and a DJ playing western styled dance tracks. There were black coated waiters walking around taking drink/food orders. I got all excited when I saw Hennessy on the drink menu, only to be told it was not available. You will only find rum, scotch, and vodka in all of Bangalore. Beer choices are Foster’s and King Fisher. Everything else is considered imported, twice the price and not available. I settled for vodka/cranberry. Even though we were late, only two in our party had arrived. This was a goodbye get-together for one of the Manger’s back in the states who is set to return next week. No too longer after our arrival people started trickling in. By 9:30 the placed was packed and folks finally started getting up to dance. I met some great people from back home, working out here for other American company’s. Kelly’s neighbor lived in Andersonville back home so that was cool. At 11:30 p.m. promptly, the police showed up and closed the place down. We had a ball dancing and drinking. You have to party fast and hard with hours like that. There was an after party, the location will remain secret, but for we decided to head home. We had promised a couple people rides and were glad when we learned they had left. Driver was out front waiting so patiently…I am going to miss him when I return home. He is so patient and will wait four hours for you to return.

Sunday I woke at about 10:00 a.m., popped couple Ibuprofen and washed them down with a 7up. I tried falling back to sleep but had no success. I finally got up to clear my head. I jumped rope a while and did some push-ups and sit-ups. Then I puked all over the pretty marble floors in the flat. It was one of those violent pukes too and seemed to last forever. WARNING; never mix vodka/scotch and Mai-Tai’s. As before, I immediately felt better.

I pulled on some clothes and walked down the way to the corner market. It was sunny and clear out. There is a stale stench in the air here, all the time, which I presume comes from a number of sources (cows, traffics, sewer water in the streets). I passed a little boy strolling along without any shoes on his feet. I am no longer shocked by this. I returned with my packages only having to again go out again for a few items I had forgotten. This time I arrived back at the flat to the sight of three women scavenging through the garbage for unspoiled food. I could not believe my eyes were seeing this. The garbage was on a flat bed truck, what we would call a garbage truck. After climbing five flights of stairs I was back in my apartment and proceeded to prep the food for cooking. It is a chore cooking without being able to use the faucet/tap water. I used like four bottles of water just to prep the food. I cooked potatoes with onions and garlic, sautéed in olive oil. I called Diane up and we chowed on it like it was the last meal. Finally, some bland American cooking. We washed it down with orange juice. George brought up some more water with his usual sense of urgency after I rang him. After complimenting him on his shirt, he offered it to me as gesture of friendship. Can you believe that, I couldn’t?

Suresh our Driver arrived promptly at two. We have had two regular Driver’s, Suresh and Lakshmi during our tour here. Suresh has a lead foot. The traffic was thick as usual and not too long after getting in traffic the exhaust fumes started getting to us. We picked-up our volunteer guide Ashish and headed towards the Fab-Mall. While we waited for Ashish I hopped out the car to get a snap of what I first thought was a canal running through the city. It turned out to be a sewage run-off which made the air putrid. Not shocked, just amazed because on either side above the embankment were houses. How anyone could live there escapes me but you have to keep in mind that there is rampant poverty here.

From Fab-Mall we headed over to Commercial Street. There we hung out for most of the afternoon, going from shop to shop. Clothes are so reasonably priced here compared to in the States. Good thing for me I am out of cash or I can get in real trouble. We stopped at Pizza-Hut for take-out and it was back to the flat. And that was my weekend. Thanks to you for the company while I wrote. I have snaps but they will have to wait. Once again I require the assistance of the IT folks at the office.


Advertisement



14th November 2005

Hey Bro
Craig, whazz up? Just a few quick lines to say hello. It's Monday morning, need I say more? How are you? Are you having a good time? I sure hope so. I miss you. Been thinking about you a lot. If you get a chance call me. I have a something I'd like to ask your opinion about. I hope you are well & taking care of yourself. I love reading your travel blogs..they are so interesting. Send more pics soon. Love You Bro!!!

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb