Update


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
January 28th 2008
Published: January 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have been back in Bangalore for just over a week now, and it has been quite busy with a new experience in tow as well.
Thursday evening I came down with a temperature and then on the Friday I was really ill, with the usual symptons you would expect from India and after not being able to eat or drink anything all day and having fainted I was taken to hospital and had to stay in over the weekend linked up to an IV drip and with a few injections along the way. I have to say I really appreciate the NHS after staying in the Indian hospital, the doctors here were really good but the room I stayed in was really dirty and there wasn't any soap anywhere nor any that the nurses used, in the middle of the night Alannah had very kindly stayed with me but she woke up to find huge ants crawling all over her.
I had a few problems trying to translate to the nurses my symptons, to which they turned to Alannah and asked her if I spoke English thinking I was speaking something else. Another interesting aspect of the hospital was it was really noisy and there was no rationed visiting hours so the room next to us had what must of been the entire family around at 7am with about 20 people to celebrate Republic Day and were really loud. When Bini came to swap with Ali at about 3pm when I was waiting to be discharged we were contemplating how much it costs to send a fax to UK to sort out my insurance to which Bini concluded it must be a lot as it would have to send the paper, we then started laughing loads and then had a nurse come into our room and ask us to "speak slowly" obviously slightly confused we repeated her question, and were told "speak slowly sound is coming" conclusion be quiet, which we thought slightly hyporcritical as we could hear the rest of the nurses chatting. But we managed to make friends with all thenurses on the ward over British Vogue which they all enjoyed laughing at. Don't think I quite fancy being that ill again, but I know what sort of health care the average joe gets now, wspeciallly the bill.


We had another day at Balwadi today with all the usual going on, and the classes were asked to share what they got up to on the weekend.
Jonson who is probaly about 3 stood up when it came to his turn and told us how his mother asked her husband for money to go and buy coffee (RS5 which is nothing in GBS) to which the husband replied in beating Jonson and then hitting his mother who is about 6 months pregnant. We felt so bad, but Jonson has become so accustomed to it now he thinks it is normal, and sometimes when he is playing with the other children he might hit them but we are trying to get through to him how it is wrong and we have seen a really good progression with him. Jonson is back to his normal self talking away non stop and pointing to anything he sees in the roomto learn what it is in English, he has loads of potential but him and his family rally need your prayers.

When I got back to the flat this afternoon I met my next door neighbour who is 7 and she was asking me if I still had fever, and then was giving me advice
"the best medicine you can have is Jesus, pray every day and he helps you and can make you well, when I forget to pray at night I can't sleep but when I do pray I sleep really well and get no fever"

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb