Happy Moanday!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
October 10th 2005
Published: October 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So, we are safely ensconced in our new apartment -that came with a service person, who we kindly asked to not work 16 hour shifts, and who is now outside our front door cleaning everything outside. I don't think he feels its ok to leave. There's only two of us we dont need all this service -he also sleeps on the kitchen floor! I agreed to abide by all these different traditions, -not using your left hand to handle food or anything clean, not showing the soles of my feet, covering my legs and arms, not being loud about really liking steak!! But there are some things here that are just so different -I feel like I'm in some slap stick comedy at the best of times! I made him a cup of coffee too ( I was making meself one anyway breakfast time here - you are all still in your leabas!!) anyway I walked off to email John in work and I heard him pour it down the sink! He's such a nice man though, he wasnt being rude -I think he just thought it was wrong, maybe he just doesnt like cofffee!I dunno! But it is just another thing to get used to I guess. So how was your weekend? We ended up just chilling and getting our bearings here and its been a total adventure so far. Had a job interview in a primary school as a sub teacher last friday- tried to chat about what I hope to do with special needs kids -and he didnt have a clue what I was talking about -so I just kept talking!! Was funny -anyway he hasnt called - I was like A-u-T-I-S-M and he was like ahhh you mean retarded -NOOOOO! l just went red and gawped at him- mental or what! So I dont think I want to work there anyway! So thats it for now -electrician has come to take phones away -we have mobiles -but phones are still here - I'm a bit confused to tell the truth. Oh and I found some ants today...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb