Om na ma Bangalore ya!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
July 21st 2007
Published: July 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Another amazing day! I lazed around for a while not wanting to relinquish my comfortable bed to a full day ahead/ The room rate here includes your breakfast and two deliveries of the local and national paper. Ahhh comfort! I wanted to visit Shiva Mandir, another Hindu temple that was nearby. I now know the ropes and connections on how to get a preparid auto (rickshaw) so off I went!

Wow! I was greeted at the entrance by a mammoth statue of Shiva on Mt. Kailash (his hometown in the Himalayas) It was so majestic, it almost took my breath away. The woman who greeted me at the entrance really wanted to guide me around and show me the ropes to proper Temple ongoings.

I chanted Om na ma Shiva ya, 108 times as I dropped gold coins into Gold pots (this, they say is good for your health and well being). I tied prayer strings on for family blessings, dropped a Gold coin into the miracle fountain, and ciclred the Gods 9 times for prosperity and good luck!

Once again the temple was full of disciples. I am beginig to understand why India is known as a land of great spirituality. Everyone here is a believer of something or other. You don't seem to find anyone who was born "something of a religious connotation" but doesn't practice. Everyone here is a believer, follower of some faith. Everyone prays, and everyone practices. It's very common to have someone ask you what your religion is before they even ask you your occupation.

The exprience was once again, surreal! I've learned to absolutely love this movie that i am in!

I left the temple after a generous donation for their hospitality-nothing was expected-
Where else does one go after a spiritual cleanse...? Shopping of course! OMG! Forget Dubai..Bangalore is the place to be-with tank tops less than 2 dollars, CD's galore (bought lots of music-this is one thing I could share with anyone who would like-got some Goa trance, Buddha trance, etc!) As I was saying, long sleeve shirts at well known stores like Lee's being 12 dollars, shoes for 25 bucks..it was insane! I wanted soo bad to buy up things, however i had to think, whatever bought, was housed on my back for 3 more weeks! I really wanted to buy a suitcase, but I have a tour planned starting in Delhi with strict restriction on a "no suitcase" rule! grrrrrr!

I had lunch at a wonderful lounge much like KIWE in Toronto, only 1/500th of the price! Unbalievable!

The night ended with me trying to outrun the monsoon rains...I lost! 😞

Tmrw! Off to Mysore!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb