Bangalore


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
December 23rd 2006
Published: December 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Nice modern looking city with big boulevards and lots of parks. Also surprisingly chilly for being so far south, but I think maybe the elevation is relatively high?

Cruised the downtown and did some browsing and eating. Tried 'pan' which is a bunch of spices rolled up in a leaf - terrible! Forcing a smile and waving bye to the vendor, Farah and I hastened to find a secluded spot to expell it. Strangely sweet and floral, it reminded me of the time that I ate a rose-flavoured perfume capsule at grandma's as a small child. Bleh!

The science and technology museum reminded me of the Ontario science centre, surprisingly fun. They had an infared camera with display that you could stand in front of; I glowed a warm yellowy-white while Farah was a cool reddish-purple - scientific proof at last, she is always cold as she claims!

We went out to Tipu's palace, which was ok, and passed through the market on the way. The markets are always very colourful, but this one had a floor with coiled stacks of hand-made flower garlands and heaps of flower heads, the raw material for them.

Banking highs and
ParkParkPark

One park was a botanical garden featuring some unusual varieties
lows: We were elated to find that our bank cards worked for the first time in an ING bank machine (international banks may be the key). However, we were then crushed to find that I'd had a credit card problem - it had somehow been compromised, though luckily whatever monitoring software had closed the card with only one suspicious transaction. I'd hardly used the card, and I still have no idea what might have happened. The bank handled it very well and has couriered me a new card, so we're free to move on tomorrow!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb