Ladakh diaries (Bicycle trip; Khardung La - Leh)


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Jammu & Kashmir » Ladakh » Khardung La
August 3rd 2012
Published: October 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I was really kicked about the bicycle trip. I was going to cycle from Khardung La, the world's highest motorable road (18380 ft) to Leh, a distance of 37 kms.

I reached the cycling company and test rode my bicycle. Since there was still time, I thought of having some breakfast, while all the others test rode their bicycles. Once all of us (there were 3 people from Italy and 2 from Switzerland), were done, the guys tied all the bicycles to the roof of the cab and we were ready to go.

We started our drive upto Khardung La. Since I had already crossed the Khardung La, on my trip to Nubra valley, I did not take much from the ride. After a couple of hours, I was there. I had a cup of black tea and got ready to bike.

I started cycling downhill with two golden rules in mind: Always keep to the left and keep on checking your brakes. It was chilly and I decided to ride slowly.

I had just left Khardung La when I saw a crane on that narrow road, clearing the path. The fact that I had not seen it on the way up, indicated that a minor landslide might have taken place a little while ago. All cyclists, bikers and tourist cabs waited there, hoping for the guy on the crane to do his job fast.

A layer of fog had enveloped the place. I had just left Khardung La, which meant that the altitude was still high and the oxygen level, pretty low. I thought that I was well equipped to battle the cold, but as time passed by, the cold weather got the better of me. I made sure that I had water so as to preserve my body heat.

Once the crane was done with its job, all of us cyclists and bikers continued.

The road was unforgiving and I wasn't going to take it lightly. With the mountain on one side and absolutely nothing on the other side, I had to be careful at all times. The decline was pretty dramatic and the blind curves were ugly. One careless mistake would have been disastrous. I had to keep on applying brakes, to keep the bike under control, every moment.

On my way, I came across a stream of water with a strong flow. During summers ice from the nearby mountains melts down and it's a common sight to find water flowing onto the roads. I got down and crossed it but accidently stepped foot in the water. The water was chilling cold and made matters worse for me.

Nonetheless, I kept on going, focusing on the path.

I came across another crane on the way. This time since I was the first person to come across it, I took the liberty of signalling to the driver and carrying my bicycle and crossing over the heap of mud that was in front of me. There was a jeep at the other end, with cycles tied on top. The people inside, nodded at me and I nodded back.

Once I crossed the military check post of South Pullu, the road became better. The ride was smooth thereon and I enjoyed every moment of it. With the decrease in elevation, and increase in oxygen level, things became more comfortable. As I continued, the sun came up and it became warmer.

A little more than two hours after leaving Khardung La, I reached Leh.

Advertisement



27th October 2012

great
great one.. both
28th October 2012

Great Experience...........
Wonderful depict.... looking for some more... All the best
29th October 2012

Very nice and inspiring! Both the blog and your adventures.
30th October 2012

Its awesome experience dude ..
Liked it
19th March 2013

Cycling well done!!!
Congratulations... You have peddle on of the worlds high passes. I'm planning mine in the month of June 2013, any suggestion for me.
24th March 2013

Hi Raj, If you are going to cycle downhill, make sure you have an extra jacket and a bottle of water with you as the weather can fluctuate. You will enjoy the scenery and the ride, but don't get carried away. Make sure you keep your cycle under control all the time. If you are going to cycle uphill, then make sure you are high on carbohydrates and are used to cycling long distances. Good luck, enjoy and have fun.
2nd August 2013

BIKE MAKE
hi ajbvision nice blog also felt good about words to arjun written by special person to his son well could you tell me what is the bike make and model and how you trained for the high altitude ride with less O2 bye
26th September 2013

Hi Mauvin
Sorry, for the late response. I don't remember the exact model, but it was a Trek sports bike. You need to have a reasonable fitness level when you ride your bike over there. So make sure that you exercise regularly. Also, once you are in Leh, don't go for this bike ride the first day itself. Spend a couple of days to let your body acclimatise and get used to the change in oxygen level and then go for it.

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb