Hello


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh
March 18th 2008
Published: March 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Heya,

Stomach cramps have gone and I've had a great week. Visited a town called Mandi at the weekend and saw a temple, drank holy water and ate blessed food. It was a great experience, definitely worth the trek up the huge hill. On my way back from Mandi we drove past buddist monks walking to Tibet in protest of the Chinese occupation and I have it on video. Its very odd to think that these people will meet guns when they arrive as 80 have already been slaughtered in Tibet. I hope the world will do something to protect these holy men.

The school kids are driving me batty. They giggle to each other in Hindi and I'm sure its not complimentary. Still, they are progressing well and I'm feeling very satisfied. They can now pronounce 'f' properly and can write their own and even my name in English. Next step is maths I think but as its an afternoon class it shouldn't be too strenuous for them. The special needs school is horrible. The staff treat the students will pity and dispair. My student does not talk and does not like to participate in games etc. Instead of encouraging him the staff ignore him as if he's invisible and so progress is impossible. I hope that I can allow some progress before I leave. Its very challenging work but I'm enjoying it so far.

This Friday there is a celebration called Holi. I've had to buy a new outfit that I dont mind getting ruined at coloured dyes are thrown, its a colour festival. I'm really looking forward to it, I will try to take photos if the risk of camera damage is small.

After this festival I start the trek through the Himalayas. Its a short 15km hike over 2 days. Its a lot shorter than I expected but at 2200 metres theres a chance that anything more strenuous could result in mountain sickness. I shall let you know how I get on.

Love you, bye for now.

xx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb