Quick summary


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh
March 12th 2008
Published: March 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,

I'm in Palampur now and have been for 3 days ish. Sorry I haven't written in a while but I've been very busy. I've travelled from Delhi to Jaipur and spent 3 days with a host family while learning about Indian culture and customs. I visited the amber fort and was very grateful for the guide we had as, although a very pretty place, I would not have seen the depth of the place. Its good to know the added extras.

We travelled to Agra next, the land of the Taj Mahal. I travelled from the bus station to the hotel by tuk tuk and as it was late at night the roads were empty and all the tuk tuk drivers with the volunteers had a race Indian style through the roads. Indian drivers dont use their wing mirrors so they constantly beep their horns to say that they are overtaking or being overtaken. The beep to say 'I'm coming' as well. This made the long distance bus journeys utterly horrible.

I must say though that at least the bus journey from Jaipur to Agra was worth it just to see the Taj. It is an amazing building, truely awesome. I was very overwhelmed by it in fact. I've taken some pictures to give an indiction of scale but cant put them on at the moment. You'll all see them later.

After seeing the Taj at sunrise we had a few hours to kill before the next long distance journey from Agra to Delhi. We waited for 6 hours at the train station for our 7 hour overnight train to Himachal. The train station wait wasn't as bad as it could've been and the bed on the train was amazingly comfy and I slept the longest I have in India so far.

We arrived into Palampur about lunchtime the next day and were introduced to the staff and other volunteers still here. It was very overwhelming at first, possibly due to the fact that I was still exhausted from the journey. We were allocated our projects and I was placed at a school for children with special needs in the morning and at a school in the afternoon.

We dont get much free time so I'm sorry I haven't written much. I've also had severe stomach cramps from the change in diet, although not suffering delhi belly style its still very painful. We've just had an evening meal of pizza and soup. Everyone was so excited and after a morning with pancakes was a welcome change to 3 portions of curry a day.

My child at the special needs school hasn't spoken to me yet but does smile so I'm hoping we can make some progress in the 7 weeks I have here. The girls I teach in the afternoons really respond to me and the way they grab hold of me to stop me leaving at the end is wonderful, although slightly painful.

I'm learning plenty of hindi to try and keep the kids in control as well as trying to connect with my special needs student. Its not an easy language to learn but the few words I have a grasp of really help.

Ok, so I think I've written enough for now. I may provide more details later. I will be treking in the himalayas in a week and a half and seeing the golden temple in Amritsar.

Love you all.

Namaste. Bye. xx

Advertisement



13th March 2008

Wow!
It all sounds so lovely! Glad the children are being friendly too. Hope we get to see some of your fab pictures soon! xxx
15th March 2008

nice one
Glad you are settling in I know everyone will respond to you as you are amazing. Im jealous you saw the Taj but look forward to seeing the pics have funn sweety see you soon xxxxxx
16th March 2008

hello
It sounds like you are enjoying it now, sorry about the cramps but they should settle soon. I can't believe you got to see the Taj I wish I could have been there. You take care and keep in touch.
27th March 2008

I feel your pain
Ha, the beeping at everyone seems to be a feature all over Asia, makes sleeping on night buses impossible! Glad you are having a good time!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb