Foothills of the Himalayas.....I can't get enough!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh
August 17th 2007
Published: October 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, from the desert to the complete opposite.....the foothills of the Himalayas! An overnight train and then wake up to such a dramatic change of scenery. India has everything!!

Our first stop was Shimla.....which didn't even seem to fit the Indian mould - it looked way more European (reminded me especially of Bosnia!). It's a place where Indians go for their holidays....so not many foreign tourists, rather relaxed and chilled out Indians! It had a really nice 'homey' feel to it. We had a beautiful walk down to the waterfall through the rainforest and it was so lovely to inhale the fresh clean mountain air (a nice change from desert dust inhalation!!!)

I think my favourite (actually 2nd!) place in India (although that is too big a call!!) was Manali.
Although it was quite a nailbiting and deathdefying drive here, once we arrived, it was truly magical! It had everything we could want! Went for lovely big walks into the villages and saw the nepalese people going about their everyday lives (which for some involves carrying immensely heavy baskets on their backs full of grass which they dry out for hay for the cows - I tried to carry one and I didn't even come close - it actually fell to the side as it was so heavy and me so weak!). These people are amazing - they are incredibly tiny but have such immense stength, stamina and determination!

Here as well I visited a little school and was amazed at how obedient (and gorgeous!!!) the little tykes were! There was only one teacher in charge of 4 classes and all the students were lined up in the neatest rows you've ever seen, reading their books and being so good! They put our students to shame!!! They were very polite (and quite timid) but I really didn't want to leave - they were just so lovely!!!

So yeah, Manali had everything (and great shopping too!!) Also really chilled out people!.... I shared many a chai and philosophical chats with the locals.

Our last stop was in Dharamsala and McLeod Ganj.......quite a bit more touristy than Manali, but still a great place amid the clouds! Loved the pancakes at the German Bakery (which became my second home!), getting soaked during mountain treks and finding a leech who was enjoying my blood way too much!!!). I loved finding out more about Tibet and Buddhism (althouth it did make me want to cancel my next jouney into China!!!!). Had some fun nights out here and learnt some crazy Indian style dance moves (which I will teach you all when I get home....I know you can't wait for that!!!hehe!).

I can't say much more about these places I went to apart from that they are some of the most beautiful and unique places I've ever experienced in my life. The people, the scenery, the food, the climate, the sense of humour, the atmosphere...just everything.....love it with everything I have!!!

Definately will be back one day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The work-horses of the countryThe work-horses of the country
The work-horses of the country

Amazing what these women can carry on their backs. I tried to lift one of these baskets and couldn't come close!
Another job to stock up the travel fund perhaps?Another job to stock up the travel fund perhaps?
Another job to stock up the travel fund perhaps?

There are marijuana plants growing everywhere here


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb