No power to the people


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
December 23rd 2005
Published: December 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

When I got up at 8AM to turn on the water heater, I was displeased to find that there was no electricity. Since neither Debash nor I were inclined to do much without first having a hot shower, another round of chai and chat ensued before power returned just before midday. This was apparently the longest outage McLeod Ganj had had for months, and also affected other parts of Northern India.

Debash's bus for Delhi left at 7PM, and looked to be the most comfortable bus I've seen in my time here. It was a shame to see him go, as it was most welcome to have a familiar face around, as well as having many interesting discussions about spirituality in perhaps one of the more spiritual places on the planet.

Back on my own again, I decided to sample a Kingfisher at the only place in town that the RG suggested might have some evening atmosphere - McLlo's, in the square. Unfortunately it was empty.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb