3 weeks in ... and its my first entry


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
April 5th 2007
Published: April 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

1st 3 weeks



1st 3 weeks rough route map


Im not much for writting so you will all have to give me a break. For those following along with google earth .......
Delhi
Bandavgar tiger reseve (near Umaria)
Varanasi
Agra
Delhi
Amritsar
Mcleod Ganj
I've seen tigers up close, fed baby elephants, seen human bodies being burned, the Tahj Majal, the Sihks holiest temple, a crazy ceremony conducted at the border between India and Pakastan, the Himalayas, and an unbelieveable number of animals freely roaming the streets of cities (cows, dogs, goats, chickens, pigs, boars, rats, water buffalo, monkeys, cats to name a few). I have had a terrific trip and am looking forward to more excitement to come. For right now, Im feeling a bit under the weather with a chest cold. I couldn't be in a better place to relax. Daramsala (Mcleod Manj) is the exiled home of the Dali Lama. It is also a beacon for travelers and the shops and restaurants that come with them. I am able to have a room, coffee, beer, laundry service etc... all for cheap and Ive got a pretty good view of some snow capped Himalayas to boot. Not to mention the cool mountain air. After my second relaxing day here, if my immune system will cooperate, i plan to talk a days long hike into some neighboring villages which promise spectacular views. Ill looking forward to it. The only question on my mind now is - which direction to go next? I had planned on going to Rajasthan provence where i could see wide open dessert and take some camel safaris. But, many people have told me that the heat there now is overwhelming - 120F. I have talked to several people who tell me that Kashmir (a place that I have always wanted to go) is now perfectly safe. Hmmmm. I have some thinking to do.




Take care
Michael B



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

basketballbasketball
basketball

Resting after playing basketball with some tibetans


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb