Manali


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Manali
October 15th 2006
Published: November 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I hadn't planned to go to Manali as it has a bit of a bad reputation. Apparently it's packed full of neo-hippie staying there for months for the cheap drugs that is grown in the nearby countryside. The drug industry makes trekking around dangerous as you might walk in a plantation; several foreigners were killed while walking in the last few years. Now I have nothing against drugheads, but I do find that drug travellers are among the most boring people on earth. They just talk about how they did nothing last day and spend the whole night smoking. They're not interesting in visiting stuff, talking to locals etc. Fine if it suits them but it's not my crowd. Plus, by buying all that stuff they prevent us to trek around. Anyway there was no avoiding Manali as it is a transport hub, somewhere you need to pass through to go to Ladakh (which is too cold at this time of the year) or Spiti Valley which is still open (but barely) in mid-october. I was planning to go to Spiti, do a loop into Kinnaur valley and Shimla (the old summer Capital of the British Raj).

The local bus
Slaughtered lambSlaughtered lambSlaughtered lamb

Slaughtered lamb = happy marriage. Of course.
was leaving at 6AM. I somehow managed to get there 10 minutes early. On the bus were 2 other backpackers but they were only going to Dharamsala, 30 minutes away. We talked while they were there, the guy gave me some info on Manali. After they left, I switched for a seat up front. I talked with a tibetan bloke called Richi (or at least that's what I've heard). We small talked at first but he opened up pretty quickly as I think he just had to talk to someone. His wife left him about a week ago for a nepali guy, even though they have a little girl together. She told him she didn't love him at all anymore. This is quite unknown in the tibetan community so he didn't know how to react. Some friend had told him to sue her to force her to stay with him, others that he should kill the man but he decided to respect her decision and bite the bullet for his daughter. He was now heading to his mom's place to relax and think about what he should do. We discussed his situation at length.

The bus first went to Mandi, about 6 hours away from Mcleod and then followed the Kullu Valley up to Manali for the next 4-5 hours. The bus was slow, it was constantly picking up and dropping people. I'd be surprised if we went faster than 25km/hr overall even if the road was pretty decent. I got screwed at one of the first stop when I bought a bag of chips (Indians Lays are awesome by the way) for twice the real price (but I didn't know at the time).

Richi left just before Manali, I told him goodbye and good luck with everything. I arrived in Manali a bit after dark. Despite what I had heard from backpackers I had decided to get a hotel in town instead of heading to Old Manali, a little village in the outskirts of town. But when I saw what Manali was actually like, I cancelled my plan and started bargaining with rickshaw drivers. Manali is packed with people and totally uninteresting. Old Manali was much better, a small village full of stuff for backpackers (pizzeria, bakeries and cheap guesthouse). The place was quite empty however as we were at the end of the season. It was getting fairly cold.

I settled for a cheapie called Veer Paying Guesthouse, a pretty nice single room but with outside toilet/shower. I headed to the pizzeria and had a delicious pizza. I then spent some time in an internet cafe where I met Marco, the dutch guy who I had met in Chitral and Islamabad. He had been motorbiking to Kashmir and Ladakh and had some funny story about how cold it was up there (-8C is cold when you're camping with a 4C sleeping bag). We talked for a while but I was tired so I eventually headed for bed.

Next day I was planning to go see the temple, walk around, get my ticket to Kaza in Spiti Valley but all these plans were shattered when I saw the weather. Well first it was freezing and there was nothing funny about it this time. I had to have all my clothes on and it was still pretty cold. There was no sun and it was raining, but you could see that one or two degree less and it'd be snowing. Now the thing is that I really wanted a shower but that meant going outside in
Yours trulyYours trulyYours truly

Doing a freaking siren pose.
some little hut. The water was hut so it wasn't too bad while it was running but drying myself was like a torture. It took me 2 hours to recover under the blankets. I couldn't do anything that day as the weather was too shitty to walk anywhere. I ate in the nearby restaurant, spending a few hours talking with a really nice english couple while eating the most disgusting burger I've ever had. I did managed to get the info that the bus to Kaza was running and just had to show up before 6AM and jump on it, I should have a seat (and if not, I could always stand up...). So I set up my alarm clock at 5:00AM and went to bed.

For some reason I didn't hear my alarm and woke up at the very late time of 5:51. Too late to go to the bus station as it's at least 30 minutes away from the guesthouse. I swore like a pirate and went back to sleep. I woke up a few hours later. I was happy to see that the weather was magnificient and the sun was out in force. Going to the
Man trying to adjust his belt subtilyMan trying to adjust his belt subtilyMan trying to adjust his belt subtily

Hoping no one saw him. He shouldn't have eaten that extra pokara.
shower wasn't as torturous as yesterday. After breakfast I walked around the Old Town and the surrounding hills. At some points a pack of street dogs started following me around. I guess they spotted I was a tree-hugger hippie tourist or something. I stopped to ask for direction to a local and he ushed them away. One word from him and they just left while I tried before and they didn't listen. I guess I really do look like a tourist.

I ended up at the Dhungri temple shortly after. It is a temple dedicated to the goddess Hadimba built in 1553. It is set in a beautiful coniferous forest with very tall trees and doesn't look at all like your usual indian temple, more like a canadian or russian traditional building (by russian traditional I mean things like the wooden huts in Siberia, not the Winter Palace). There were a few tourists, mostly indians around (Manali is a famous honeymoon destination). After I went walking around in the forest. I really loved the place, it reminded me of home so much. Coming back to the temple I saw that there was a gathering around the entrance and 3
WomanWomanWoman

After Pakistan I felt she was obscene
foreigners were looking intensely. I came closer and realized that there was a pool of bloods (the errand dogs were busy cleaning the place) and a beheaded goat on the ground. I asked for info to one of the westerner and he said it was a marriage ceremony and they had beheaded the goat as a sacrifice to the gods. We watched the ceremony for a good 20 minutes and it was extremely interesting. The dutch guy said it was a mix of animist and hindu religions, religions often mix in the mountains as they're more isolated from the mainstream of hindu society. The bride had such heavy jewelry, her nose ring alone probably weighted a few pounds.

After the ceremony I hung out with the dutch couple. We walked toward the other exit while talking. There were people selling everything: saffron, postcards, rabbits to take a picture with, yak to ride and take picture with, little things of wood with cute inscription on it (as in: It's so good to have a brother like you) that can be used as keyholder. Needless to say I was uninterested. But the dutch woman was so after waiting around for 15
Manali in bad weatherManali in bad weatherManali in bad weather

It was raining and almost freezing. My toilet/shower was outside. Miserable day.
minutes for her to decide which color she wanted her little piece of wood colored I said I had some appointment somewhere and left. Hey, I'm not married with her, I don't have to put up with shopping with her.

I walked some more, going to Manali since I wanted to give the city a second chance, maybe my first impression had been wrong. Well it wasn't. It is a very uninteresting place, plus the bookstores were closed so it made me angry. It's just a city where every building is a restaurant, a hotel or a shop selling tacky souvenir. I ate some amazing momos for dinner, skyped my parents and went to bed very early to make sure I'd wake up in time tomorrow as I didn't want to face the sarcastic smile of the guesthouse employee a second time (I had told I'd be leaving to Kaza at 6AM).


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Indian group taking pictures by the riverIndian group taking pictures by the river
Indian group taking pictures by the river

Was a bit too dark to get a decent shot unfortunately as it was just after sunset
Dogs followerDogs follower
Dogs follower

Even the dogs follow the tourists in Manali. They never followed the locals. They were quite friendly and cute...
Temple 3Temple 3
Temple 3

This is just to show the surrounding of the temple. The trees are massive and remind me of Canada's trees.
Shoe caretakerShoe caretaker
Shoe caretaker

Look at the hat, it seems to be the cool thing to wear if you're old and living in the area.
Was trying to get a shotWas trying to get a shot
Was trying to get a shot

But the dog got in the way. He was a nice fella and went away when I told him I wanted to take a decent shot. That or he was scared by me raising my voice. Dogs here look like they're being beat up fairly often as they're very submitted.
Around ManaliAround Manali
Around Manali

That was after the dog left
Dogs love wedding ceremoniesDogs love wedding ceremonies
Dogs love wedding ceremonies

He's not gonna lack iron after that.
The ceremonyThe ceremony
The ceremony

Couldn't ask permission as I arrived in hte middle of it so I took only one subtle shot.


4th November 2006

*sigh*
It's getting cold here, but I think I would able to deal with it if i was backpacking around like you are!!! You're not missing much here, busy writing a stupid grant proposal for class. You're blogs are great to just get away for a bit :) And you're right-with those trees it does look like home! :)
6th November 2006

quand reviens-tu ? J'ai hate en titi !
Je suis chez Michel et Sylvie. On vient de regarder toutes tes belles photos. Malheureusement, je n'ai pas pu lire ton gigantesque texte pcq mon anglais est un peu pauvre !!! Je pense souvent à toi et je m'inquiète un peu, surtout, ne prends pas de chances inutiles, sois prudent. Tu sais, même si tu as dit que tu partais pour un an, tu peux revenir avant hein ha ha ha .En tout cas, si tu restes encore pour un tit bout, profites-en bien, amuse-toi, remplis tes yeux, remplis ton coeur. JE T'AIME XXXXX Ta grand-moûman Ydola.
6th November 2006

Elle a tout dit ce qu'on voulait dire
Salut Vic! Ydola a tout dit ses recommandations de grand-moûman, Alors je ne te répéterai pas les miennes, c'est la même chose. Ici on parle juste de tes photos de Kamasutra (?) pis on a hate de voir ça. Qui sais, y a peut-etre des positions qu'on ne connait pas ha ha ha (quoi que à notre âge...l'expérience )! Marie-Eve a un chum. Samuel magasine toujours... Hey, il se peut que Samuel aille en Tunisie au mois de mai-juin prochain dans le cadre d'un stage internationnal. Ils iront dans le désert pour offrir des soins aux nomades.Marie-Eve ira en France vers le 23-24 juin 2007(échange) et Michel et Moi nous irons au Mexique en mars et même Ydola ira peut-etre faire une croisière dans les Caraïbes en Février 2007. Et ta famille qui partira pour l'Égypte en janvier...Ça fait pas mal de monde qui se promèneront en 2007 ! Sur ce, je t'embrasse fort. XXXX Bye Je t'aime. Sylvie et Michel
6th November 2006

what next
ends too abruptly - what happened next...
10th November 2006

Bravo
allo Victor, Kévin m'a parlé de ce que tu faisais et je suis tres contente pour toi mais je dois dire que tu es bien loin du 6è rang n'est ce pas. J'ai presque tout lu tes reportages et je suis émerveillée par ce que tu fais. Ne lache pas et j'ai hâte de lire ton prochain journal. Bye et bonne route. En passant tes photos sont superbes. Francoise de St-Gab.

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0984s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb