Manali High


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Manali
May 24th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Nice LocationNice LocationNice Location

A picturesque scene at a roadside shop just north of Manali.
I knew the moment I arrived in Manali that I would enjoy my time here. Set in a large valley with snow-capped mountain ranges running adjacent to the town, the scenery around Manali is stunning. When compared to the 110+ temperatures of Delhi, the weather here is awesome. Ranging from low 70's in the day at high 40's at night, it's a great summer mountain climate. The several valleys and peaks around Manali are prime backpacking spots with more than 50+ different treks to choose from. Unfortunately because of the late snow this year I'll have to wait a month or more before the most desirable passes open up. I think I'll return in a little over a month and see what trips I can get myself involved in.

On my second day I did take an all day jeep safari to the nearby Rhotang Pass. It's an insanely narrow mountain road that ascends some 7,000 feet from Manali town (elevation 6000ft.) to around 13,050 ft at the top of the pass. When I made it up there I was surprised how little the altitude affected me. I suppose had I stayed their longer I would have noticed. At the
Down the ValleyDown the ValleyDown the Valley

Somewhere down below there is Manali, nearly 7,000ft below where I took the picture.
top of pass I wandered around snapping photos and even jumped on the back of a Himalayan yak. I had hot tea and breakfast with some funny local tour guides and enjoyed the stunning views from the high elevation.

I've moved to a different part of Manali, known as old Manali, a more travel friendly part of town. I've got a super cheap place with a great view and will probably spend a few days here before heading to my next destination of Mcleod Ganj. Mcleod Ganj is home to the Dali Lama, the Tibetan government-in-exile, and a large Tibetan community. I've located a volunteer program where I can help teach English and an art class and figure I'll spend at least the next month helping out in the Tibetan community. Hopefully once I know exactly what I'll be doing I add another update to this blog.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Tibetan Buddhist TempleTibetan Buddhist Temple
Tibetan Buddhist Temple

A "gompa" as they're called in Tibetan. Up the hill on the other side of the valley from Manali.
Blue Mountain SkyBlue Mountain Sky
Blue Mountain Sky

A view of the great Himalayas where we stopped for breakfast.
ValleyValley
Valley

Overlooking old Manali where my guesthouse is.
Hadimba TempleHadimba Temple
Hadimba Temple

A beautiful and old wooden temple on the hillside near Manali town. The temple was built over 500 years ago.
Himalayan RangeHimalayan Range
Himalayan Range

This particular rang is part of the western stretch of the Himalayas.
Tibetan Prayer FlagsTibetan Prayer Flags
Tibetan Prayer Flags

Perched on top of the Rhotang Pass at 13,050 feet.
Looking EastLooking East
Looking East

Over those mountains is Tibet and Nepal.
Rhotang PassRhotang Pass
Rhotang Pass

My self-portait at 13,000ft.
Yaaaaaaaaaaaaakkkk!Yaaaaaaaaaaaaakkkk!
Yaaaaaaaaaaaaakkkk!

Riding my yak at Rhotang Pass. Actually I just stopped for a picture and jumped on its back.
View of ShimlaView of Shimla
View of Shimla

An former British hill station, Shimla is where I boarded that 11 hour bus to Manali.


31st May 2007

Ride 'em Cowboy
Can't wait to see you on an elephant next time! When you get back down in elevation find out about watching a polo match. Polo is a very popular sport in India.

Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 14; qc: 86; dbt: 0.0911s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb