TOUGH BUT THRILLING,KINNAUR KAILASH TREK


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Kinnaur
January 16th 2016
Published: January 17th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Distt. Kinnaur is border distt. of Himachal Pradesh as its boundry is common with China in Shippikila.A historic Satluj river drains the distt and flows very deep in narrow gorged valley.This distt.is famous for dry fruits and apple.I have wide experience to wander in this distt from first village to last village,because I have spent 3 and half years in this distt as Civil Engineer posted in one big hydro electric project on river Satluj.Shongtong-Karchham H.E.P.(450MW) being executed by H.P Govt.I served the distt. From 2012 to 2015.
This distt is also religiously famous for Lord Shiva's winter abode in Kinnaur Kailash which is significantly visible from famous tourist place Kalpa.The Shivling near the Kailash changes color three times a day.In every year in the month of August,distt admb organises distt.state level kinnaur kailash Shivling darshan yatra.When I was there,I as a high altitude trekker also participated in the Yatra in August2014.
I started my yatra with some young Engineers on 3-08-2014(Sunday)At that time my age was 57 years and young boys were of 24 and 25 years by age.The first steep ascent is real test of devotees for faith and fitness.I was climbing with youngs in very easy state of body despite of 30kg load on back in the rucksack.In this kinnaur kailash yatra,this becomes tough also due to carrying all drinking,eating and sleeping articles on back.There are no arrangements of langars,tents and medicines on the way to holy peak. When I judged that youngs are very week and inexperienced in trekking,I told them to climb slowly and let me to go fast to make arrangements for night stays in the caves which are only 5 in numbers.If these caves are reserved and occupied by advance pilgrims ,then other will gave to spend night on open place which is dangerous if it rains in the night.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb