India with Krystal--The Bucket Shower


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Dharamsala
June 13th 2017
Published: April 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Ahhhh India. India. India. India.

I lived in the mountains in Himachal Pradesh, one of the states in India famous for the Himalayan Mountains. During my two month life in a very limited town--I was the only international foreigner inhabitant--I had to survive without the basic necessities required of most American blonde girls.

One of such necessity: hot water shower.

That's right. No bathroom in my apartment. And no hot water shower. The only shower system available was found across the street at my neighbors joint family accomadation, and even then the shower was COLD WATER only. Now did I mention I was living near the Himalayas? In winter? Not exactly the weather I would be tempted even slightly to participate in a cold water shower on a daily basis first thing every morning.

Water in India comes at certain times, early morning or in the evening so if you want to take a "bath" you have to be quick. One bathroom for a joint family means that during my time in the bathroom I might have a crowd of people waiting and limited water supply to support my general requirement, let alone the rest of the families.

The bucket shower:

Step One: Fill bucket with water.

Step two: Stand in the bathroom naked and cold--most important make sure your wearing your slippers--aka flip flops.

Step Three: Dunk cup into bucket of water. Proceed to dump the cup filled with water onto your head and body.

Step Four: Scramble to scrub yourself with soap and shampoo quickly. Standing in the chilly bathroom air, wet and naked and no consistent flow of water means the longer you take to scrub the more likely you are to freeze to death...or something like that.

Step Five: Pour cup of water on head and body. This process can then be repeated until the remaining water in the bucket is gone.

Time Duration: Five to ten minutes. (No more luxurious thirty to forty minute showers here.)

Important tip for ladies: Make sure you bring your clothes with you to the wash room as it is completely inappropriate to leave the bathroom without dressing fully in your clean clothes.

And now you've experienced for the first time in your life a Bucket Shower. Now repeat that everyday for two months straight and you get one cranky blonde American girl. But hey. I survived.

Please check out my website: https://www.kryskolumbustravel.com

Also: www.krystal-kelly.com

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb