Kibbuz Daramsala


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Dharamsala
July 18th 2006
Published: July 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So
Last Sunday (9.7)I arrive in the the city of the Dalai Lama, Daramsala (aka McLeod Ganj)and what do I see, some Buddhist monk, here and there, some Panjaby people, some Tibetan refugees. And lods of Israelis. allot, many, numerous. its just crazy, I had Falafel (so so), Gachnon (the best), Shakshoka(not good), the whole lot of Israeli dishes. There are even Israeli dishes in India that don't exist yet in Israel. One is called Shaloam la Malaka (hello to the quine) it is composed of 8 layers, start is a biscuit, on it there's a layer Banana, next is ice cream,then comes more biscuit, chocolate and so on, the thing wight about half a kilo and with my own eyes i saw someone killing one of these in less then 20 min. Wow, after all Israeli are big eaters, its one thing the local knows, Israeli don't save on food. and of course half the time they are in Munchies, so.
Nevertheless Bugsu (which is just outside McLeod), the place I'm staying in is Very nice. it's on the side of a valley, there's forest and green, there is waterfalls nearby, a Falafel shop. people tend to be happier here. As soon as i got here I registered myself in two courses, one is North Indian cooking class in the afternoon and yoga class in the morning. Cooking Indian food was fun and not difficult at all, however yoga at 9 Am is a different story, I've been doing the exercises for less then 20 min and i was completely wet. it ain't easy these exercise. but on the other hand it feels good after, hopefully I'll keep on. there rest of the days I chill, meet people, read, and eat, I'm Israeli after all.
The nights you usually meet some people (Israeli) and you talk to them, most of the time is plain sallow conversation, how long in India, where you from... the usually bla bla. But every now and then you meet someone interesting, with a story to tell and then its worth it. The other day I met a guy that is Iranian, but born in Mumbai, and lived all over the place. The thing is that this guy is an Equity analyst for a big bank, and he works from over here, spends 5 House a day in an Internet cafe does his job and chills the rest of the day. how about this for a job. Maybe he give courses how to get this job 😊
A cool story that happened a few days ago, when I Was walking yo my Yoga class (8:30 am) me another guy from the class met this English geeza, and he gave us a flyer, then he explained to us that today they are going to kill all the street dogs. Anyone that had been to India saw the stray dog, India is full of them, in all size and shapes. I never got why there so many dogs and how they feed, but I guess its one of those Indian enigmas, anyway here in Daramsala they decided to poison them. So people got together to stop it, I'm not sure what happened while is was in Yoga class but when I left, and walked back all the gods had on their neck this red cloth, which is a sign of good luck and good fortune from his holiness the Dalai Lama. and of course no one will kill and dog blessed by the Dalai Lama. Ache. I their start ways things really work here but like we say over here all the time, "same same but different. (yes i take orders for T shits).
that's it for now see what happens next.
Boaz


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



19th July 2006

Wow, High Altitude munchies!!
Wonderfull stories as always Boaz!! great to hear them and keep them coming. Uni starts tomorrow here in Briz, everything in the air.. Skype u soon, J

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb