Birthday boy


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Dharamsala
July 10th 2006
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yo
In Daramsala, got here last night just in time for the game. In the last 48 hours I did about 22 hours on the bus, but buses are another story, this time in going to finish the birthday story.
So in came back from Pin valley to Kaza and check in to the same guesthouse i slept before, the guesthouse owner turn to be a really cool guy, and after some talk we decided to go to his village the following day and spent the night there. This was on the 19th, we took the bus for the one hour drive at 2 pm , the bus starts to climb up the mountain and very soon the valley opens up and the blue, turquoise of the river and the blue sky are there.
The small bus has two stops, in Langza and Komic, Lara lives in Langza which is the lower village. After 30 min of steep uphill climb the bus reached a meadow, a green platou with very moderate slope and in this 4000 meter platou lays Langza. Maybe 20 houses on the side of the hill and green filed under it. fairy tale. I stayed on the bus till the last stop in Komic and as soon as I stepped out the view got me. I went on a craze of pictures. The village is one of world's highest at 4600 above sea. Impressive. there is also a Buddhist monastery with about 100 monks and from the glimpse I took its also beautiful. I caught the bus for the 15 min back down to Langza took pictures like crazy. We stayed the night at Lara's house, the house itself is made from mud and stone. I's quit big two floors, in the lower one they keep the animals and use it for storage and living in winter , and in the higher one they live in summer. They made a nice guest room all green with view to the green fields. Me and Lara went for a short walk to the "big Buddha", and when he went back to the house i went for a few hours hike up the hills to find the water source. Which i didn't but the fun was one the way to find it. really beautiful. When i walked back it was already dusk, i got to his place was served a glass of hot fresh milk strigth from the cow (I love it). anyways we had dinner at around 9 and i was given a glass of local wine and sent to bed, its now 2 hours to birthday. Over the last summer i read the book called "turning 30" and the whole thing freaked me out. I had made this plan to be in India on some high mountain place look at the stars and the landscape and be happy. And guess what, it happened. I went up to the roof, the night was moonless so there about one billion gazillion stars, you could see some of the white peaks, perfect. I like it when plans work out.
At midnight of 20-21 i was already sleeping. When I woke up at 6 and run to the roof and with the clear morning air everything looked even better. great.
we walked back to Kaza for about 1.5 hours and i spent the day relaxing chilling and eating. I bought a cake and at 9 the guest house staff and few other ppl i knew gathered and i blew the candles. I Even got some presents. great.
That's about it, the whole 3-4 weeks were an amazing experience, the places, the people, the atmosphere, all was so good. everything was right.
Thats it for the time been, soon will be more stories, india is full of them.
take care
Boaz



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

birthday boybirthday boy
birthday boy

don't mind the eyes, its the smoke:)


10th July 2006

Happy Birthday bro!!!
Yo dude, how it is? This is actually the first time I have enterd your blog, I didn't see them till Amity and Assf told me. Looks like you are having such a good time - I envy you for that. Anyway, Happy 30 bro. I am getting there myself - damn it. Take it easy and be safe. shai
10th July 2006

welcome to the club
Happy birthday... welcome to the club.

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb