Lobsang and Tensing


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Dharamsala
August 6th 2009
Published: August 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I am now well and truly ensconced with Lobsang, Tensing and Sarah and being thoroughly spoilt. Lobsang won’t let me do a thing. He washes my clothes - I have had to hide my undies, makes my bed in the morning and puts shoes on my feet if I walk about on the concrete veranda. He and Tensing are both great cooks too and the food is Tibetan and wonderful. Tibetans must be the most wonderful people in the world, I can’t believe that things have turned out so well.

I share a room with Sarah at present, which is no problem. She is 28, comes from England originally but now lives in Australia, so we have a fare bit in common. She leaves on Saturday so then I have the room to myself. Both of us are giving Lobsang English lessons so he is getting everything in stereo, he is doing well though.

On Tuesday Lobsang hired a car, he has a motorbike (another story) and the four of us went to a most amazing Buddhist monastery about 2 ½ hours from Mcleod Ganj. We then had lunch with Lobsang’s sister who is a school teacher. The school has over 1700 students. All of the children are from Tibet and have been sent by their parents with the hopes of a better life. Heaven knows if they will ever see their parents again.

The accommodation is in “houses” which are sponsored by various countries from around the world. The feeling in the place is wonderful and maybe another place where I shall work one day in the future. I know I would like to.

The other story!
Most of you would know that I am scared stiff of motor bikes, well I have come to see that I cannot survive with that fear here in India. A few days ago Lobsang took me on his bike to see Dall Lake, (empty!) and then on to a beautiful hotel and resort further up in the mountains. We had a wonderful lunch and watched the clouds come and go. Of course, no helmets!!! After all my preaching to my sons and now here am I. Well as they say, “Don’t do as I do, do as I say”. Don’t worry, he drove as though he had his ageing mother on the back.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



7th August 2009

travel log
Well IndiaBuffy you do seem to have found somewhere wonderful this time compared with recent experiences and such pleasant travelling conditions Im glad I didnt share . Roger x
14th August 2009

All is heavenly in Little Lhasa
Hi Roger, yes have landed on my feet yet again. I love dharamsakla even in the monsoon season. Tibetans are wonderful people, I think I may have to visit tibet next year. Really good to hear from you, B.

Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.017s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb