Voice of Tibet


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Dharamsala
July 27th 2008
Published: July 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

KevinKevinKevin

It's not really a flattering picture of him, but I just loved his dread locks sticking out of his head like that:)
Yey, so I've been here a couple of days now - I'm not entirely sure how many though. I've lost track.

I've met a very nice lady called Rough who's been traveling a lot in India, and come back here loads of times, so she showed me a bit around and we went up to the Tashita temple because she wanted to to the 5 day retreat course they are doing, but decided not to because her divination told her it was a bad time.. eh.. she's very nice - a bit weird, but very nice. We had a stray dog who followed us all the way up and fought of monkeys that tried to cross our way and afterwards we had a cup of tea at the teashop. Very nice place, and I might go back up there to have a look around again. The roads are very steep.

I'm starting to get a hang on this place. I'm normally very good at maps, but for some reason (and I blame the map i the Lonley Planet) I've not managed to find anything. Luckily, Kevin came along (graphic designer from France) who's also been here before, and he came with me to the Voice of Tibet radio station. It's a very nice place with all the official buildings of the Tibetan Government. We had to look around a bit before we found the station office. Everything seemed to be closed today and we couldn't find anyone who spoke English. Eventually we found a guy who showed us where it was - well very hidden, looking like it was someone else's garden! We talked a bit to the manager who told me he'd find me some work for next week, looking very placed and had lunch. We walked back up to McLeod (awful, awful steep roads) had a cup of tea and Kevin had to go as he's teaching some refuge Tibetans English and French.

As you can see, I'm not really doing very much. I've spent most my days walking around and reading, but it's very relaxing and I'm having a really good time. Looks like I might hang out with Kevin and Rough a bit more though so I'll probably have to cut down on my reading a bit😊

Still no pictures - I'm sorry.. They will be up eventually.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb