Greetings from India!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Dharamsala
July 23rd 2008
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

CoupleCoupleCouple

From the Ghandi garden thing. The picture looked better on the camra, I havn't used this one so much, but I'll get used to it soon.
I arrived in McLeod Ganj at about 6 am yesterday after an long and bumpy night, driving from Delhi. Delhi was, as it usually is - awful! I can't cope with that place. If it's all the people, me being alone, the heat or just me recovering from being on a plane for too long I don't know, but something about it makes my brain stop functioning properly. I must say, Douglas Adams wasn't making stuff up when he said all you need is a towel. The bedsheets in Delhi didn't convince me much, so I was very happy too use my (a very nice fiber one my father gave me for my birthday) towel. Also it made a great blanket on my ride to Dharamsala. I'm thinking of naming it..

Anyway, I'm now safe and sound at Green Hotel (they were the first place to serve breakfast - according to the lonely planet - and as the rooms looked OK, and I was in desperate need of a shower and a bed, I couldn't be bothered to try and find anything else). I then fell asleep at about 9, meaning to get up again at around 12, but ended up sleeping til 6 pm, getting some dinner, reading a bit and going back to sleep.

This morning I've been trying to check the place out, but I'm telling you - the monsoon is no joke! Trying to get down to a small temple and finding the library witch sounded like an interesting place I suddenly found myself trapped with several other travelers and pilgrims underneath a small roof at the feet of a much bigger temple that I'm still not sure what was. I've never seen such rainfall in my life! It took over two and a half hours til any of us dared to leave the roof. Still raining I got far enough up the road to escape into a small coffee shop when it broke loose again, but this time it was warm and I had pancakes and Lemon Ginger Honey Tea (my forth cup since I arrived, amazing stuff!) so I didn't really mind.

Sorry there are no photos in this entry, I've just had dinner ad pop'd by the Green Cybercafe (cyber's a word that never really caught on at home, but it's apparently very popular in most of Asia) and really didn't feel like going downstairs to get the cable for my camra. But I do have a very nice picture of the view from my hotel and the insane rainfall. Now I'll just finishing this and order another Lemon Ginger Honey Tea before I'll go back to my room and do some reading. Hopefully I'll be able to find my way around tomorrow😊


Advertisement



23rd July 2008

yehey
høres bra ut. :D øspøsregn er fint. skulle ønske vi hadde sånn i norge også. sånn enten - eller. ikke litt halvregn i flere uker i strekk. kos deg videre! jeg slækkern på gården min (de andre er på ferie, så nå går jeg rundt her og later som om det er jeg som eier stedet. :P) har planer om å kidnappe (catnappe) kattungene i kveld, så jeg kan ha selskap i senga mi. :P kos deg videre!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb