Good Morning Ghandinagar


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Gujarat » Gandhinagar
January 2nd 2007
Published: January 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Free and Easy RidingFree and Easy RidingFree and Easy Riding

Feeling totally independent getting around Ghandinagar on the back of Ompriya's Mo-Ped.
Sun is shining, what a beautiful day. Back home in Ghandinagar and the day started with a wonderful brisk walk with the M.L.A of Gujurat (Ompriya's Pappa). The tummy is feeling much much better with good old honey on dry toast and porridge and a delicious Indian cup of tea. I am totally converted and in love with Mammas chai tea consisting of crushed ginger, pepper, sugar (of course), tea leaves, water and milk all brewed over the stove to create what can only be described as a sensual heavenly experience down to the last drop. I have also converted a few to oats (porridge). It is such a lovely change to all the spicy filled food that we have been eating as a daily diet for all courses.

I love Ghandinagar so much that I am extending my stay with the family for another week. I just can't leave. I love my Indian family so much and am having the best experiences of my life within the family confides, than in any other place I have experienced in India. The kitchen and laundry is heart centre to the home. The servents are part of the family and love is
Hail Sonnel benHail Sonnel benHail Sonnel ben

Sonnel washing all my filthy clothes from the journey. Yeah eat your heart out Krissy, I'm having my washing done for me!!!
permeated throughout.

I have become pretty local with travelling on the back of the mo-ped around this quaint town. I would have to say riding around town like this has been an awesome highlight to my adventure in India. But I am easily pleased at the best of times. Who would believe this is the capital city of Gujurat? A city consisiting of under 200k in population compared to other cities with millions. And of course Ahmedebad just one hour away, a metropolis. I suppose Ghandinagar can be compared to our Australian Capital Territory (ACT) and Canberra with all the politician residence. It is such a nice change to have a manageable population and be able to walk, ride or drive around without stress. And mostly the people are so much friendlier. This is definately not a shopping precinct. But if you are looking for a real-life town of people getting on with life and little or no hassling, come to Ghandinagar. It is also gateway to so much of the Kutch region.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Wildlife VisitorWildlife Visitor
Wildlife Visitor

Yep this is the kind of wildlife that frequents the kitchen and laundry window. They are even known to climb the wall and come inside...Farout!!


5th January 2007

In awe
Hi Tessie. I am amazed at your experiences to date. You are making your journey come alive for all of us that are reading your travel blog. Can't wait to have a look at all the photos and talk to you in person about your experiences. Miss you at the gym!
5th January 2007

Hi Linda so good to hear from you. I am so glad you are checking out my journals. The photos are up now too. I haven't uploaded or written about the baby blessing ritual yet nor meeting Swami Ji. I will do that in the next few days. Lots of love and blessings and yes I am soo missing the gym, my body is feeling it terribly. x0x0x0

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb