Rituals of Aaryas


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Gujarat » Dhansura
January 3rd 2007
Published: January 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had The wonderful fortune to be invited to yet another family celebration in performing the second ritual of Aaryas of the 16 rituals in all. This took place in a small town, however, still busy and bussling with people going about their daily lives. The town of Dhansura came alive with an influx of population of the Kutch-Kadava Patel Caste to perform the second ritual of the Blessing of the Feotus. We were bestowed by the presence and pravashan (similar to a lecture or sermon) by Swamiji of the Vanprastha Aashram - Gujurat. Although I did not understand Gujurati, I was able to experience the essense of the ritual and be in the moment. Havan was performed as it was in the ritual of the wedding ceremony previously attended in Baroda City. The women dressed up beautifully again, however, no extra changes were required for this one (PHEW!!). I must say my travels and experiences have taken their toll and my exhaustion and lack of enthusiasm to dressing up was a little apparant I am afraid. I definately was not the belle of the ball by any means, but my treasures were yet to be bestowed when Swamiji spotted me
Havan Havan Havan

Part of the Ritual of the blessing of the feotus
in the crowd - not hard I suppose!!! and passed to me an english transcribed book of the 16 rituals of Aaryas. He wrote a note inside with the ritual dog eared for me. I was so humbled and taken back that during and throughout this most important ritual I was invited to be involved whole heartedly. I also had the blessed fortune of being asked by Swamiji after the ceremony to come and meet him. I did with enthusiasm and with much humbled pleasure. I will take yet another unique and precious memory away with me of family, religion, ritual and unconditional love.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Auspicious Moment for Me Meeting SwamijiAuspicious Moment for Me Meeting Swamiji
Auspicious Moment for Me Meeting Swamiji

The book I am holding is the english translated version of the 16 Aaryas that Swamiji passed to me.
Love Hearts Wins Hands DownLove Hearts Wins Hands Down
Love Hearts Wins Hands Down

Mamma in the most beautiful sari on the day. Love hearts...my favourite..


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb