A cockroach and some water


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Vagator
December 17th 2010
Published: December 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

A Cockoach...

I detained a rogue cockroach which fell from somewhere above my head in my 'bath' room - admittedly, I had to warn my forgetful morning self that there was a cockroach underneath the tupperware pot (another handy use for it) by sticking a post-it note on the wall nearby simply saying COCKROACH! This room has been the first for ants however, which I don't like in great quantities, so I acquired some insect spray and fumigated the room one evening. There were no more ants. The other irritation is the mosquito crew. If you're quick enough to keep all doors and windows closed, it's pretty safe to sleep without a mosquito net, but if one gets in the room, you'll get got. If you're sitting outside between 5 and 7pm without mosquito repellant, the same. Deet is a good way to avoid getting got and I have a repellent which is 95% deet. Sorted.

The Great Indian Water Theft

One day as I was sitting outside my room with Denis, an old man working for the guest house (cleaning the wall) came over, saw we had a large bottle of water and asked for some for his smaller bottle in Hindi. I held his small bottle as he used the big bottle to pour some in and basically kept filling it up, not only spilling loads in the process, but then drinking extra out of the big bottle as well! I get the feeling I should have just offered him to go inside and us the tap as the locals can drink the tap water, but foreigners can't. I think he extracted the Michael a little bit with that, so I'll be wary of old men asking for water in the future!!!! :-) The other time someone tried to con me over a drink, was a woman on the beach. She'd sat behind my sunbed and asked me for a drink, so I handed her my water bottle, to which she replied 'No, Coke'. i told her she could have water, but I wasn't going to buy her a coke, so she decided against anything! Cheeky beotch!

Scooter Syndrome

Since I've been here, I've been lazy. It's very easy to get into the comfortable lifestyle of driving around on scooters and eating big meals all the time. It's hot to walk around in the day time and dangerous to walk around at night. I guess it's all about a balance, but I think I'm still in holiday mode. Need to work out a budget and a simple, gentle exercise routine. I get the impression that once I'm out of Goa, I'll walk more, eat less and be a bit healthier due to the decrease in alcohol availability.


My skin is better now I've been here a while. I think it's got used to the heat and I've got into a mild skincare routine of washing my face with soap and moisturising with Aloe Vera gel in the mornings. It's not sticky like cream...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb