Sorry sights whilst making friends


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Vagator
December 5th 2010
Published: December 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 4.

Tomorrow was most definitely another day!
I got up early after sleeping realy badly and got to IAR at 9am ish. I took a few dogs for walks, most of them really sweet but some didn't want to go out at all. Some of the were so scared, it makes you wonder what had happened to them. One doggie didn't want to walk... as soon as I got to its cage, it looked really happy and excited, but once I'd got inside with it and was trying to put the lead around its neck, it shyed away, sat down and wouldn't get up again even though its tail was wagging and it looked really happy. A lady called Sue told me that she usually picks it up and goes and sits with it outside so I did that, although it was still shaking a lot. Then I played with some puppy brothers in an outside run... boy puppies who were beating each other up! they were so cute!! Then, I went and joined Kelly (another volunteer, from Bournemouth) in the kitten pen!! They were the tiniest little kittens, all different ages and colours, all very, very cute. Got some great picturesof them as I took my camera today.

After being at the centre, Kelly, Jan, Nigel, Jean Pierre (JP for short) took a moped ride to Mapusa, the nearest city (pronounced Mapsa). It was a slightly ominous drive as i didn't know the road, but I followed JP and he lead us to a really nice eatery on the outskirts of Mapusa where we met up with Anna and Steve who were heading to Hampi that night on a bus, possibly with no toilet on it for a 12 hour journey... i think I may take the train if I ever go there. We had some food... I had a Mysore masala dosa whih was a giant pancake, cooked really thin and crisp, folded over witih potato curry in the middle and chutneys on the side. kelly's turned up in the shape of a huge upside down ice cream cone... big enough to be a massive hat! They were really tasty and I was so, so full up.
We then sat outside a few shops on the side of the road with everyone, Indian men ogling on as we drank beer and I took photos of them without them knowing! Mapusa is a bit grotty. It reminded me of parts of Nairobi where there's rubbish everywhere, poor looking stray dogs and the buildings look like they're going to fall down. After saying goodbye to Anna and steve, we went to the Laxmi tea shop, the favourite local haunt as it sells VERY cheap beer and spirits at 20 rupees a shot... 30p or so...?

Kelly and I realised we had many things in common and are planning a day trip to Arambol together as she stayed there for a while and really loved it. It's where the beasts went and I'd really like to see the Sweet lake and the Banyan tree.
I'm not sure if I've mentioned her at all, but there's a german lady staying in the room next to me and the first thing she said to me when I first met her, was that I needed to close my door more quietly so i didn't wake her up at night! When I went home after being in Mapusa, she clocked that I was with Kelly and said she hoped we wouldn't be noisy when we got home! :-) Since then, I have been really quiet at night, but during the day, I make sure to be as noisy as I can.
kelly showed me her house that she's renting - a two roomed apartment with a little garden! During today, Kelly had been worried about the kitten she was looking after and hoping a rat hadn't got in to hurt it... We got to kelly's to find the tiny kitten sitting calmly on the bed with blood in its fur - a big male cat had got in and attacked her! It was a really sorry sight 😞

There was cat pee and blood on the bed and the mosquito net, so there must have been quite a bit of a struggle. The kitten seemed to have 'paralysed' back legs and two wounds on its back. it was as if the spine had been broken, as her legs were dragging along the floor. It's possible he tried to have his wicked way with her but there wasn't really any sign of that in particular. it was very apparent that she was in a lot of pain when her tummy was touched, so it was likely that she had even more sinister internal injuries There wasn't really much that could be done at this point other than to leave her be and let her rest. If she was still alive in the morning, then she could be examined at IAR.

Kelly and I sat and listened to music on our ipods through small computer speakers that Kelly had bought in Mapusa - great idea!! We chatted for ages and got on really well. We also went on a ride to buy water and provisions for the evening and from my point of view, as driver, quite an epic journey. It felt good with the cool night breeze on my face, the sound of the moped buzzing away, whilst feeling quite nervy about how dark it was, how bumpy the road was and the possibility of receiving unwanted attention from local men, but rather free as well and safe with my companion of that moment (my first time with a pillion passenger). We snuck into my hotel room to avoid waking the German lady up!
Today, I felt more settled. I think I made a friend.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.092s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb