Such delightful creatures...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Panaji
March 5th 2009
Published: March 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So one week into my travels and it feels like I've been here for ages! Took a tour yesterday to Dhudsagar waterfalls in the National park in the east of Goa ( the name of the park escapes me now!) It was a 2 hour drive in a wee bus( thank god for air con!) followed by a very bumpy 8 km jeep ride through the Jungle and rivers, listening to the guide telling us about the termites, small snakes, spiders that make their webs between the trees and eat birds , leeches and other delightful creatures that live in the jungle! But the best bit was seeing all the Monkeys and being able to feed the Makack (sp?) monkeys. Although there are signs everywhere telling you not to feed them you can buy fruit with which to feed them! But they are so lovely and it was brilliant to see them running about and not in a zoo. So then we had a 5 minute walk to see the secong highest waterfall in Indian with a train line cutting through the middle of it. It was really gorgeous and nice to cool off in the pool below. This morning I was due to take another tour to see South Goa but spent nearly half an hour waiting for a non existant bus! ( the same tour operator as the one I couldn't find on Tuesday!) So needless to say I was well pissed off and decided there and then I'd had enough of Calangute, went back to my hotel , checked out and took a taxi to Panjim. So here I am, it's big, busy, noisy, dirty and way too hot so am only going to stay one night. I checked into the first place I saw, got a room with no glass in the window and a shared bathromm for 250Rs( 3 pounds!) So cant complain too much. Tomorrow I'm going to head down the coast a bit to Colva. It's a bit touristy but plenty of beaches to laze about on and I'm definitely going to hire a bike while I'm there-not so much traffic to deal with. I'm surprised I haven't seen any accidents with the way they drive here but I read in the local paper today about a bloke who was crushed to death by a truck in Vasco. It took 20 minutes for the police to arrive and longer for the ambulance by which time he had been carted off in a van. The locals started a riot in protest and set fire to the truck! So it seems your on your own if you have an accident here!

To the guy who commented about no photos, I haven't yet as it has been taking too long to upload anything and some of the pcs I have been using are so ancient that I'm afraid I'll loose them, but I will do soon.

So as the bunny used to say...thats all folks! More later...Lxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb