Just because there are ali baba pants and we're in India, doesn't mean it is India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Palolem
November 17th 2011
Published: November 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I definitely know my standards in terms of hotel rooms have altered significantly since I’ve been in India. Tonight I’m staying in a shit-box in Delhi. I’m not going to lie, I knew it would be a shit hole but reality has really hit because tomorrow night mum we have to sleep here too…sorry Mumma!
I have the last section of time in Goa. Goa could be any tropical tourist haunt in the world but I’m not going to lie, it’s awesome!In terms of finishing uni and wanting to celebrate it was an awesome destination. I stayed in a cool beach hut place that had a restaurant attached and the reality was, if I wanted to sleep eat and swim all day, I could! I was in a place called Palolem which is an awesome stretch of sand with great sunsets and few Indian men taking your photo! I spent some afternoons watching the sunset from the bar and some walking and some at the bar and not even looking at the sunset. They even have a ‘silent disco’ on satty nights. Made me laugh coz, well it just did, and yes I did end up there last satty, only waking up with a few war wounds the next day!
I also managed to run into one of the girls who I did my first prac with, purely by coincidence. And such an awesome coincidence at that coz we had an awesome time hanging out (even though I didn’t manage to teach them how to kayak!).
Now I’ve left the surreal reality of being in India but not being in India at all and have walked smack bang back into India, quite a culture shock! I’m in Delhi and it’s loud and boisterous and slightly overwhelming, but glorious all the same. Unlike Chennai and Kerala, Delhi is used to tourists so there is less hassling.
Tomorrow night Mumma arrives. In the day I’m doing a mad dash to a western type shopping centre coz all the clothes I have with me that I’d normally wear at home have been ruined due to my incredible inability to hand wash things! Then we are headed off on a tour (with air conditioning for Mumma).
Love love.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb