Free Water! Everything's Comin up Milhouse!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Margao
November 12th 2011
Published: November 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The reality of finishing uni has most certainly not sunken in yet! I’m still in Fort Cochi, which is where we’ve spent many weekends so maybe it will all sink in once I’m on the train! I’m hoping the train is going to involve lots of sleeping. This is probably quite unrealistic but it will at least be an easier trip than the trip from Chennai to the Nilgiris!

Last night I had an awesome dinner at a place called Dhal Roti. As I was sitting there reading the Rohinton Mistry book ‘Family Matters’ the charismatic owner told me that Rohinton Mistry had spent a week visiting the restaurant about 12 months ago. I’m not sure why I chose to read another of his books; I’m still devastated after reading ‘A Fine Balance’!

It’s later in the day and I’m now on the train on the way to Goa. I think I’m sitting with Indian gangsters (they have the same suitcase dad used to use, one with a code you have to entre on the handle-pretty sure it contains millions of rupees!) who giggled when the train assistant guy (who is decked out in a very spiffy uniform) gave me water and I was astonished by the idea of free water. They then corrected me and said that nothing in India is free! BUT they also serve food, which is also included in the cost of the train ticket! This is the closest to first class transport that I’ll ever get! When I booked the ticket they did ask if I wanted veg or non-veg. I’m pretty sure under the pressure and confusion of food being included I said non-veg, oh well I’ve already eaten! Anyway! Free water and food in my eyes!

I had an awesome night. Some friends from Rajagiri College came to Ernakulam and we had a delicious meal and hung out. They gave me a dog soft toy, which I’ve called Shiva – a combination of their names as well as being a god of sorts!

I feel like I’m on holiday now but I’m sure it will truly sink in once I’m lying in a hammock in Goa! And maybe after I’ve had a shower!

Much love!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb