Goa Vacation - April 10 - April 13, 09


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Candolim
April 14th 2009
Published: April 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My love for Goa was not instant. I first visited the place back in Nov 2004 for my honeymoon. The packaged deal landed me at Calangute Beach with no information. It was over crowed and the fact that I had a motor bike accident on the second day did not help. I did spoil the honey part of the honeymoon.

Decided to visit Goa with family that include a wife and three + years old son on April 10, 09. I had not planned for it in advance but thought of making a very good use of Good Friday. Did not have a reservation in hotel but Got a bargain in a Villa in Candolim for Rs 650/Night.

We took a Non AC bus ( as all AC coaches were full) for the price of an AC bus but it was running late. We reached Mapusa at about 11:00 AM on Friday. We took a taxi to Candolim ordered Coffee and sandwiches while we waited at Cafe Coffee day for house lady to pic us up.

The room was good with a kitchen that we did not use but to make coffee. We reached candolim beach at about 3:00 PM and were greeted by our usual shack boy Motilal who works at Jackson Shack. The beach was surprisingly filled up with a lot of foreigners. We took a bed and I went for a swim with my son. I am not much of a swimmer so I don't go in to deep. I stayed at the parameter with my son staying just at the sea shore catching waves of water. Candolim Beach was very turbulent conjuring big waves. I ordered Beer and we spent about 3 hours on the beach. Had dinner at Carvery. Bought some milk and Newtons and it was 9:30 PM by the time we got back. I was tired and immediately went to sleep.

Next day we got fooled by a man as we left the Villa at about 11:00 AM. He told us the we had won a bumper prize at Royal Goan Beach Resort and that if we went there and attended one hour long presentation we would get a gift. They were paying for Taxi to and fro and we thought to check the hotel out as we visit frequently. When we got there we were forced to sit through a presentation of two and half hours and asked to buy a membership for Rs 4.5 Lakh + annual maintenance of Rs 20000 for a 25 years which I declined. Anyway they gave us a meal voucher for Rs 300 and 7 days stay and Royal Goan Beach Resort for $ 150 (admin charges). We took the free taxi to Calangute beach. The beach was full with people. I took a ride on water bike for Rs 100 and ordered a beer. We left early and did some shopping. We got back home at about 10:00 PM. It was not one of our best day at Goa. On next two days we were met with people from the same resort but we declined politely to visit that place again. Their Pansy workers roam all over Goa to fool travelers. Beware!!!

We spent two more days at Candolim beach and it was time to return to Mumbai. The ride back was easy and I was in the office at 10:30 AM on Tuesday morning already searching through make my Trip and yatra.com for hotels for our next trip to Goa in June 2009.



Advertisement



16th March 2015

Need some guide and help for a trip to GOA
Hi, We are going GOA this JUNE. Can you please provide some help and guide on the trip? form where to start,what next after that and where to end? Also provide with some contact numbers of cheap hotels and drinks bar along with some Shack boy contacts? My email id is provided by me.

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb