Leaving Goa


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Anjuna Beach
February 7th 2008
Published: February 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The fabric shopThe fabric shopThe fabric shop

This man can sell a freezer ti an Eskimo...
One more day of yoga, one day to rest, one day to pack and go. I still don't know how I will get to Rajasthan exactly, this week was funny trying to get a seat on one of the trains... I now have a collection of train tickets, most of them on the "wait list". The first one was booked in Panjim, but to be on the safe side, I decided to book a back-up ticket to Mumbai in 3rd class-AC (I don't like Air Conditioning but may have to tough it out to get to Mumbai), so this one was booked in Pernem.

It was late in the afternoon when Iain and I went to that small village. The drive was beautiful, some rice fields, so green on the way, some more rural and especially less-touristic places, it felt like the "real India". We were the only non-Indian around, and of course, we missed the reservation office hours by 20 minutes... So we sat down in a very small very local very indian cafe, and drank a great chai. It was one of those moments, being somewhere in the world, with nothing very special about it, except the fact
Sunset in GoaSunset in GoaSunset in Goa

Another day is over on the Arabian Sea...
of "being there". Being in this unlikely, unknown place, and just being happy to be there, dressed in my salwar kameez, drinking chai in a dirty-looking glass. One of those moments when you think :yeah, 6 months ago, I had no idea that I would be here now... And it was great and it was what I came here for...

This week, the yoga was a lot harder. My muscles felt like wood. But I still enjoyed it a lot and will miss it for the next few weeks. Both the teachers here are fantastic and inspiring. The shala is a lot quieter now, less people and the atmosphere is very relax. Tomorrow, it is the "going away supper" with a bunch of students. Then it will be time to go. That's good because it seems like we have a new roomate... A rat!!!! Oh, I forgot to mention the little frogs and the cool-looking bugs and guekos. But I still have all my toes.

So I am happy to move on to a new adventure but a bit nostalgic about the great time I had here.... A month just flew by. I'm sure that I will be
The house in GoaThe house in GoaThe house in Goa

WHere I spent countless hours doing nothing and enjoying it!
busy enough to not be sad for very long! More to come, a lot more...

Sorry about the lack of pictures, it is always too slow for the downloadig it seems or else, there is no USB port... Maybe I'll have more luck in Rajasthan.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Mapusa MarketMapusa Market
Mapusa Market

Colorful local Market on Fridays
Goan houseGoan house
Goan house

House close to the yoga shala
Deluxe appartments in GoaDeluxe appartments in Goa
Deluxe appartments in Goa

For deluxe tourists... Portuguese style house, with an Indian touch...
Anjuna BeachAnjuna Beach
Anjuna Beach

One of the Goan beaches
Catherine in paradiseCatherine in paradise
Catherine in paradise

At one of the few desert beaches in Goa
Green field on the way to PernemGreen field on the way to Pernem
Green field on the way to Pernem

Looked like rice to me, but it might be vanilla...
ArporaArpora
Arpora

On the way to the shala


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb