Diu


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Daman & Diu
January 21st 2006
Published: February 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Jill and MohandasJill and MohandasJill and Mohandas

Nice moneybelt!
We finally arrived at Diu around 10 am on January 21st. It was warm and the sun was out (Mt. Abu was very windy and cool). Diu is an island 11km by 3km which is governed by Delhi (along with Daman) and is not part of Gujurat (which allows Diu to serve very cheap beer - $1 for 24oz). Diu was a Portuguese colony back in the day and the remnants of the white Portuguese architecture still remains as does the Portuguese people. The main languages are Portuguese and Gujurati (its very interesting, and I would have never have known otherwise, but every part of the country has a unique language, and some parts cannot communicate with each other so as a result, they communicate in English).

We found a super cheap clean hotel, settled and headed to breakfast at this family house (father's name is Francisco) and, although, it was past breakfast hours, they were nice enough to serve us their great filtered coffee (real coffee here compare to instant Nescafe everywhere else) and omelette with real cheese. In talking to Francisco, he recounted the history of the island as to hour most of the residents are Portuguese (though
ChaiwallaChaiwallaChaiwalla

Our morning chai guy
never being in modern day Portugal) and their Portuguese roots which gave us a background to history of the island.

In Diu, once again we didn't do much. We ate great breakfast, had a great dinner at Francisco's (it was a Portuguese buffet) and drank beer until I got sick, again. Thankfully, it was only the final day that I was sick so I wasn't in bed long. But, we did manage a trip to the "hospital" which is a doctor sitting behind a desk. I told him my symptoms and he prescribed some medicines for me to plug me up and reduce my nausea. It worked, so that was good. And not that the doctor did much doctor work, but all that for $1. I needed it for the 8 hour bus early the next morning taking us to Rajkot for a overnight train to Mumbai.

It seems very easy to spend weeks in Diu as it is so quiet and laid-back compared to most of India. We daily bought fresh Papaya, Guave and grapes to take to the beach. Beaches weren't spectacular but nice enough and completely desolate, especially during the week. Other than the occasional Indian male spectator. They like to scout for western females in bikinies but seem harmless, though, as I've mentioned before, the staring can be uncomfortable. Luckily, Jill and I weren't bothered on our trip.

And about these overnight trains - they're a haven for roaches. Out of all bugs, I cannot accept the presence of the roach, I'll take the dung beetle anyday. So I spot one before we make our bed crawling in Jill's bunk. And a side note on this, Jill also sees this but gets into bed and falls asleep no problem (she was on the bottom bunk); normally I get screamed (it's the level below hysterical) at by Jill at the sight of a roach, but on this night, she sleeps like a baby. I have the top bunk opposite side of the compartment so I felt like I was safe - opposite wall and high up. I wake up around 3 am and the roach (I think it was the same one) is right above me on the ceiling, right in front of my face. I get my headlamp and a pen. You're probably thinking, what's with the pen? I figured that with the pen I could push it in the corner down on the person sleeping below me - I would have been fine with that. Anyway, this very nimble roach hides behind a steel beam in the corner of the ceiling, he was damn quick, and disappears. I must have been shining my light on that beam for at least 30 minutes waiting for the reappearance - it never happened. I finally fell asleep but not without waking every hour to check my surroundings.




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

In the CavesIn the Caves
In the Caves

Looks a little spiritual, doesn't it?
CowsCows
Cows

Me taking pictures of everyone else taking pictures of cows; its not just me.
Afternoon BeersAfternoon Beers
Afternoon Beers

Andrew and Jamie at the ends (from Britain) and Jack from Australia. Jack comes to Diu every year for 5-6 months. He budgets $1000 for that time.
ShaveShave
Shave

Although I was not well, it was time for a shave.
Gandhi's House in RajkotGandhi's House in Rajkot
Gandhi's House in Rajkot

During our stopover, we stopped for a visit in Gandhi's house
Gandhi's CribGandhi's Crib
Gandhi's Crib

Posing with the guy who takes care of the house.


10th February 2006

Can't you buy a bottle of Raid?
10th February 2006

Your trip
I absolutely LOVE reading your journal entries. Continue enjoying your time away!

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb