The trouble with food


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Daman & Diu » Diu
November 28th 2010
Published: November 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's been a while since I've written in my blog and a lot have happened since then but I don't feel like going into details. Suffice to say that things have considerably improved after leaving Rajhastan. the state of Gujarat is so much nicer. I enjoyed the Kutch province, with its unique handicraft, and the island of Diu, where I am now, with its quiet beaches and fishing villages.
Despite all this I've been suffering from mood swings and had a lot of down moment. I've been trying to understand why. Of course it could be the rubbish scattered everywhere, or the noise, or the smell, but I believe there is one more important element affecting my mood and it is the one thing I thought would not cause me any problem: Indian food.
Back in London I was very fond of curry and during my first week in India I was avidly trying all the local dishes and thoroughly enjoyed them. Then the stomach problems started and I slowly lost my appetite. I tried international cuisine but found it to be pretty bad and so I started eating less and with little enthusiasm. This may not seem like a big deal to some people but it is to me. I have always taken a lot of pleasure in eating so losing interest in food to me equals losing interest in life.
Here in Diu for the first time I have found good continental food and I feel reborn. I'm pretty sure in Mumbai and Goa it will be the same thing but then what is the point being in a country if you cannot behave like the locals and eat like them? And food is not the only problem. There are other things to which I failed to adapt. For example, I cannot get myself to use the toilet the Indian way, which is without toilet paper. I was ever so critical of people going to South America and throwing the paper in the toilet instead of the bin, thus causing blockages. And yet here I'm doing the same thing (in India there are no bins in the toilet, or anywhere for that matter). This and other cultural differences convinced me that India simply isn't for me and so I probably won't stay for much longer. Obviously there are must-see places such as Goa and Kerala so at least another month is required. But after that I think I will leave. There are several options: going to a different country in Asia, make my way home through the Middle East or go back to Brazil. The last one seem the more likely right now as I need an injection of Brazilian optimism but there's still time to decide. For now I'm enjoying the sun, the beach, and the food that doesn't make me sick.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb