Please do not sing if you have paid


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Bihar » Patna
January 21st 2006
Published: January 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hindu temple in PatnaHindu temple in PatnaHindu temple in Patna

Lit up like a Christmas tree at night
The bathroom here poses a bit of a safety hazard. Not only is the power point for the geyser directly opposite the shower, leading to a potential water/electricity interface, but the cord hangs over the squat toilet, leading to a potential McCabe throat/cord interface while I'm taking a leak.

The Indian Rail website was still awash in a sea of wait-listed seats, so I decided to try directly at the station using my foreign charms. A bit of grovelling at the reservations manager's office seemed to produce the desired effect - even though I had a wait-listed ticket, he assured me he would make sure I got a seat. I exited while tugging my forelock.

There doesn't appear to be much to see in Patna. I saw no other foreigners while I was walking around, and the strange looks I got from most people indicated it was a bit of a novelty for them to see mosquito-ravaged white people.

The title comes from the bottom of the bill at a hotel restaurant I went to for dinner, and was presumably aimed at hotel guests who opt to pay in cash rather than have it added to their tab. I hedged my bets by neither inking in my name nor breaking into a rendition of "Barbie Girl".

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb