The highlights of Hyderabad


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Andhra Pradesh » Hyderabad
November 18th 2007
Published: December 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The city is Hyderabad; the date November 14th. Until recently, Hyderabad was a relatively small city known for its biryani and not much else. In the past 5 years, however, the city has exploded as one of the centers of the IT industry. There is plenty of new construction around town - in fact a new airport is opening in a few months as a result of all the hubbub in the city. Anyone in the IT field looking to relocate will have no trouble finding a job here.

I’ve been coming to Hyderabad since I was a kid because it's where my Mom grew up. She would tell me stories of how she would climb mango trees and snakes would come into the bathroom in the middle of the night. Now, it’s become such a metropolis that I can't imagine what it must have been like during my Mom's youth. According to Rusi Mama (my Mom's brother), when he was a kid, it was rare to see cars on the streets. Only the elite of the town could afford such luxuries. Now the streets are jam-packed with cars, motorcycles, autos, and traffic is at a standstill during peak hours.

I met up with a friend of mine, Homyar, and he was kind enough to be my tour guide for the week. 😊 Golcunda Fort and the Qutb Shahi tombs are the most famous of the local sights. Golcunda Fort was built in the 16th century and has a beautiful view of the city below. The tombs of the Qutb Shahi kings are about 1.5km away from the fort. The mausoleums and other structures are an amazing sight nestled among trees and beautifully lanscaped gardens.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Family ReunionFamily Reunion
Family Reunion

It's so obvious that I'm the shortest one in this picture.


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb